Skip to main content

EDS: Online Article and Database Search: Introduction

IT Carlow Library's guide to using EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) to search online articles and databases

Welcome to EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)

What is EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)?

EDS Discovery is the library's online search tool. It offers users a simple way of accessing the libraries electronic resources through a single search. It helps you to quickly find resources related to your subject without specifying a particular database(s) to search. 

How to Search

EDS Discovery can be easily searched from the library homepage. Simply type keywords, titles or authors into the search box pictured below and click "Search". This will conduct a quick search of the library's electronic resources.

For more advanced search options go to http://www.itcarlow.ie/library/services/eds.htm. You can also connect directly by using that URL.

When a search results list is displayed, it will by default list all results where full-text access is available. If you wish to view results which may not have full-text access, deselect the Limit To Full Text option shown on the left side of the results page:

If required, the Source Types option can also be set to Academic Journals to only display results from high-quality academic journals:

 

When you have decided on the title you wish to view, click on PDF Full Text, Full Text Finder or HTML Full-Text to link to the full-text of a document. This will take you to the requested article.

Browsing Publications by Discipline

It is possible to search publications by subject. On the search results page to browse the listing of available publications by discipline click on the Publications tab (top of screen).

This will display a listing of available Library resources by discipline area.

 

Off Campus Access

If you are searching off-campus, after selecting the EDS link already shown, or after completing a search and selecting a full-text link, you will be directed to a login screen. To login enter your IT Carlow network username and password (Student ID/Your Password).

Do More - Enhanced Functionality

Why not create an EBSCOhost account. This will allow you to perform such tasks as setting your user preferences, saving your favourite articles, setting up search and journals alerts.

To set up an account:

1. Click the Sign In in the top toolbar of the screen.

 

2. From the Sign In Screen, click the Create a new Account link.          

3.The Create a New Account Screen appears with Personal Account entered in the Account Type field. Fill in the fields on the Create a New Account Screen. When you have completed the fields, click Save Changes.

When you create a new My EBSCOhost folder account, or are updating the existing password for your account, you are required to create a strong password.

As you begin to enter a new value into the password field, the strength indicator will reflect how strong your password is using both color and strength value (red=weak vs. green=strong).

When your password meets the requirements, the indicator displays that your password is strong and you can retype the password in the next field to confirm it.

4. If all the information was accepted, a message appears that provides your user name and password. Click OK. You will be automatically logged in as a personal user. You should note the user name and password you created so you can log in at a future session.

If you have forgotten your password, you can submit your user name to retrieve your password.

Help

Further information on using EDS can be found at https://libguides.itcarlow.ie/EDS.

If you cannot link to a full-text document, encounter any difficulties or have any questions please visit the Library Information Desk or email libdesk@itcarlow.ie.