Skip to main content

Special Collection - Professor Geoffrey J. Hand: Introduction

IT Carlow Special Collection

In December 2012, the Library at the Institute of Technology, Carlow received an important donation from Prof. Geoffrey J. Hand.  The collection which contains around 1200 items, consists of mainly law materials but also included are some items on ecclesiastical history, politics and Irish and British history. 

Collection overview

The collection comprises different types of material including antiquarian books, offprints and personal papers.  Professor Hand's personal papers cover a range of topics including human rights, constitutional law, comparative constitutions and the European Union.

Search the collection

To browse a listing of the Geoffrey Hand Special Collection via our Library catalogue, please click HERE

Further reading

To discover more about Prof. Hand and his work, please link to the following list of references:

Professor Geoffrey J. Hand (1931-2016)

Photo Credit: Cover of The Irish Jurist, Vol. XXXI, 1996

Professor Geoffrey J. Hand received his BA in History from University College Dublin and was subsequently awarded a DPhil from the University of Oxford in 1960, for his research on medieval Irish Law.  After holding lectureships at Edinburgh University, Southampton University and University College Dublin, he served as Dean of the Faculty of Law at UCD from 1970-1975.

From 1976-1980 he served as one of the inaugural professors to the nascent Law department of the European University Institute at Florence.  From 1980 until his retirement, he served as Barber Professor of Jurisprudence at the University of Birmingham. 

Professor Hand was regarded as a leading scholar in the field of medieval and early modern legal history, with particular focus on the advent of English law in Ireland and Irish ecclesiastical history.  He was a member of the Royal Irish Academy and a fellow of the Royal Historical Society.  He was awarded the Gold Medal of the Irish Legal History Society in 2010.

(Source: European University Institute - In memoriam)

Essays in honour of Geoffrey J. Hand

The Irish Jurist, Vol. XXXI, 1996

"This book is a special issue of The Irish Jurist, consisting of a collection of essays written in honour of Geoffrey Hand. The collection includes essays on a wide variety of topics within the sub-disciplines of legal history, the law of the European Union and Irish law, reflecting the breath of Geoffrey Hand's scholarly interests throughout a distinguished academic career.." - book cover

This is available in the Law Reference Section at shelf number 344.17

Sample items from the collection

Contact us

If you require further information about this collection, please contact:

Brigid Carey

Liaison Librarian to the Faculty of Business & Humanities

Tel: +353 (0)59 9175763

Email: Brigid.Carey@itcarlow.ie