Welcome to the Library service of SETU Carlow. The services provided by the Library include book lending, individual and group study facilities, photocopying, information retrieval service and access to a range of online databases.
SETU Carlow Libraries hold a broad range of resources both printed and electronic to support the subject area of Early Childhood. These include books, journals, case studies, databases, official publications, newspapers and various other items.
To facilitate the research process, this guide provides a brief outline of how to search for these different types of material.
Early Childhood Juvenile Literature Collection
Check out the new juvenile literature collection available for borrowing from SETU Carlow Library. This collection was kindly donated by the Early Childhood Education Department at SETU Carlow. This collection promotes the development of communication, listening, creativity, growth and development skills in babies and young children.
These books are available at shelf number 372.216. The full collection list can be browsed HERE
Featured Early Childhood Resource!
Siren Films: Understanding Childhood
The UKs leading creators of educational videos for early years practitioners. You can search by area of child development, specific theories, areas of play, learning strategies and age or setting.
New IRel Resources Available
SETU Libraries now have access to a range of new online resources and also now have access to enhanced content in some of our existing resources through the IRel consortium.
IReL is a consortium of Irish research libraries. Established in 2004, it provides participating member institutions with access to a wide range of licensed e-resources, open access publishing agreements with over twenty publishers, and open science infrastructure.
The new resources available are as follows:
The Irish Newspaper Archive is the world's largest database of Irish Newspapers with publications dating back to 1738. This database provides full-text access to a range of Irish national and local newspapers.
SETU's subscription provides full-text access to a wide range of books offering extensive overviews on all aspects of Research Methods. Access is also provided to a range of podcasts from researchers in the Social Sciences and how they deal with methodological issues.
Cambridge Core Journals
Oxford University Press Journals
Proquest Social Science Premier
Science Classic
Enhanced online content is now available in the following resources:
Sage Online Journals
JSTOR
Taylor & Francis Online
Wiley Online
For more information on these resources click HERE
