The library provides access to a wide range of online databases which give comprehensive coverage of the subjects taught at SETU Carlow. The majority of these databases can be searched via the Search and Find Discovery Service as well as through their individual search interfaces. Most of the databases are available for on- or off-campus access. Where off-campus access is not available this is shown in the database list available on the Library website.
Please note that SETU Carlow Library databases are for private, individual use and research only, and can only be accessed by currently registered students and staff. Content from library databases must not be used for commercial purposes and data may not be shared with any third party. Please be aware that if you choose to use the added functionality of the databases, such as creating a personal account, each database will have a different privacy policy. SETU strongly advises that you read any privacy notice from such third parties before using such functionality.
A comprehensive collection of Irish and international newspapers are available online, via the Nexis Uni database.
Please ask Library staff for more detail.
The databases most relevant to Electronic Engineering & Related Subjects are as follows:
A digital library providing access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore contains full-text documents from IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards, in addition to books and educational courses. IEEE Xplore also includes content from select other publishers including the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), MIT Press, IBM, Nokia Bell Labs, VDE Verlag, Morgan & Claypool, Tsinghua University Press, American Geophysical Union (AGU), Oxford University Press (OUP), Beijing Institute of Aerospace Information (BIAI), and now Publishers.
Specify-it & Engineer-it via the Irish Construction Information Service Online
A suite of databases of suppliers and manufacturers of products in Engineering, Construction, Electronics and Process Engineering.
A collection of electronic books covering aspects of energy management and engineering - content can be downloaded.
This resource contains more active, peer-reviewed, business-related journals than any other database currently available. Additional full-text non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (video) and more.
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Most articles can also be downloaded as MP3 files.
JSTOR is an archive of academic journal back issues. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and related titles. However, the most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available, but users can search this recent material and link to the full text (depending on subscription status). SETU Carlow subscribes to Arts & Sciences IV module which has a strong focus on the professions of business, education, and law, and also includes titles in psychology and public policy and administration.
Company Dossier enables you to gain insights into prospects, customers and competitors with instant access to up-to-date, trusted and comprehensive information on 3 million UK companies and 46 million companies worldwide. Dossier collates information from authoritative business, news, country, market research and industry sources and provides you with pre-formatted reports in an instant, and company, industry and executive profiles.
This LexisNexis database provides access to full-text online legal, news and business information services with 2 billion documents gathered from 28,000 sources. Coverage includes: Irish and International newspapers ; Irish and International Companies 18,600 News and Business sources from around the world.
Provides access to information about Conveyancing Law, Land Law, Landlord and Tenant Law, Stamp Duty, and other aspects of Irish property legislation.
This latest version of MarketLine replaces Datamonitor360 and gives access to a unique mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world. The content includes company SWOT analyses, company overviews, industry profiles, case studies, country analyses, country statistics and latest news and developments.
Access to 1,600+ journals from Elsevier. Mainly Science, although Business, Economics, Engineering, Maths, Computing and Social Science is also included. Full-text is available for last 6 years by clicking on 'Publications' button.
For Off-Campus log-in, users will be asked to enter their SETU network log-in and password. Please consult our Off-Campus Access Guide for more information.