Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*Online Resources and Services available at IT Carlow Library during COVID-19 Closure: E-Resources

IT Carlow Library's guide to the online resources and services available during the closure of our libraries due to the COVID-19 pandemic

Library Closure

The IT Carlow Libraries in the Carlow, Wexford and Wicklow campuses are currently closed due to the COVID-19 restrictions. Borrowing and returning of, or access to, physical collections is unfortunately not possible when we are closed. However, items already borrowed will not incur fines during the period the library is closed.

Students and staff can search for ejournals, ebooks and other online resources through ‘Search and Find: Online Resources’ or via the Search and Find: Online Resources search box on the Library homepage.

Ebooks - How to Access Electronic Books

Staff and students of IT Carlow can make use of the online facilities provided by the library to download and read electronic books. Ebooks are available through several databases with the main ebook resource being ProQuest's Ebook Central which has over 180,000 ebooks covering all subject areas.

Please Note: This video refers to EDS which has been renamed as 'Search and Find: Online Resources' but the functionality remains the same.

Ejournals - How to Find Electronic Journal Articles

Students and staff can search for ejournal articles via ‘Search and Find: Online Resources’ from the Library homepage. Simply type keywords, titles or authors into the search box pictured below and click "Search". Once you have done this you will be asked to log in with your IT Carlow network username and password. This will conduct a quick search of the Library's ejournal databases and other online resources.

When a search results list is displayed, it will by default list all results where full-text access is available. If required, the Source Types option can also be set to Academic Journals to only display results from high-quality academic journals:

When you have decided on the title you wish to view, click on PDF Full Text, Full Text Finder, Linked Full Text or HTML Full-Text to link to the full-text of a document. This will take you to the requested article.

You can also search for ejournal articles in other databases from our A-Z Databases list. Ejournal databases include:

Please Note: This video refers to EDS which has been renamed as 'Search and Find: Online Resources' but the functionality remains the same.

A-Z List of Databases

The Library subscribes to a wide range of databases covering the subjects taught at IT Carlow. Most of these databases are searchable through ‘Search and Find: Online Resources’ or alternatively can be searched individually via the A-Z Database list.

The following databases are not searchable via 'Search and Find: Online Resources':

Online Resources made Available as a Response to COVID-19

Many publishers have made additional content temporarily available for free during the COVID-19 pandemic. The following list details what is available and how to access this additional content. Please contact us if you have any queries.

  • JSTOR: We now have access to all JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections and more than 25,000 ebooks.

Off Campus Access to Online Resources including 'Search and Find: Online Resources'

After you click on 'Search and Find: Online Resources' or an individual database link, you will need to enter your IT Carlow network username and password (e.g. your student number and the same password that you use to log into your email or Blackboard) to access the online resource. For more information see our Off-Campus Access LibGuide.

Subject Guides and Further Help

For more specific guides to individual subject areas, please visit our list of Subject LibGuides.

The Library web pages (www.itcarlow.ie/library/home.htm) and Library Guides (http://libguides.itcarlow.ie/) contain further information about the Library and its services, including video tutorials and more information on using ‘Search and Find: Online Resources’ and ebooks.

If you have a library query please call 059 9175760 or email:

If you have a problem accessing an online resource please email Simon.Perry@itcarlow.ie or Fintan.Bracken@itcarlow.ie.

You can also follow the Library on Facebook and Twitter:

 I.T. Carlow Library

 @ITCarlowLibrary