Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Return to Library 2021: Using the Library

This guide provides information for library users on returning to the library in the academic year 2020/2021.

Library Closure

Library services will continue to be available online in conjunction with the Click & Collect service, while the physical libraries in the Carlow, Wexford and Wicklow campuses are currently closed due to COVID-19 restrictions.

During this closure period it is not possible to book a PC or study space in the LRC or Wexford Campus.

Students and staff can search for ejournals, ebooks and other online resources through ‘Search and Find: Online Resources’ or via the Search and Find: Online Resources search box on the Library homepage.

Library staff are here to help you so please get in touch with us. If you have any general questions please email LibraryHelp@itcarlow.ie.

Borrowing and Returning Books Spring 2021

During Level 5 restrictions, we strongly encourage students and staff to use our extensive ebook collections as an alternative to borrowing print books from the Carlow and Wexford campus libraries. Please see https://libguides.itcarlow.ie/return/resources and https://libguides.itcarlow.ie/ebooks for further information on accessing ebooks.

Should you need help using electronic resources or finding specific titles please contact LibraryHelp@itcarlow.ie.

If you there is a specific item in our print collection that you are searching for and there is no alternative ebook, please fill out one of the forms below. If the item is available as an ebook in our collections you will be sent a link to the ebook. Should the item not be available as an ebook, we will then email you with a time to come on site to collect the print item in line with public health guidelines. Please do not come on campus until you have received an email to tell you that your items are ready for collection.

For the Carlow Campus Library (LRC), it is expected Click & Collect requests submitted before 1pm on a Friday will be available for collection by 9am on the following Tuesday, and it is expected that requests submitted before 1pm on a Tuesday will be available for collection by 9am on the following Friday. If items are not collected within one week then they will be reshelved.

For the Wexford Campus Library, you will be contacted by a member of staff in relation to collection arrangements.

   

Please do not come to campus only to return library books. Please return them when Level 5 restrictions have ended. Please note that any borrowed items due back during Level 5 restrictions will not incur fines.

Renewing Your Books Online

If you wish to check how many books you have out, when they are due, if you have fines or if you wish to renew library books you will need to login to your library account. This facility is available from the library homepage.

You will need to enter your IT Carlow network login details and click on the Login button.

The items that you have checked out will be displayed and you have the option to renew items from the General Lending collection as long as they are not overdue or have been placed on hold by another borrower.

Short Loan items normally cannot be renewed but can be renewed once for the Academic Year 2020/2021.

Consultations with Library Staff

Library staff are available and happy to help answer your queries. If you have a general query please email LibraryHelp@itcarlow.ie. Please email your Liaison Librarian If you wish to consult with them:

  • Brigid Carey | Tel: 059 9175763 | Email: Brigid.Carey@itcarlow.ie | Liaison Librarian to Faculty of Business and Humanities
  • Rónán Lynch | Tel: 059 9175761 | Email: Ronan.Lynch@itcarlow.ie | Liaison Librarian to Faculty of Engineering
  • Simon Perry | Tel: 059 9175766 | Email: Simon.Perry@itcarlow.ie  | Liaison Librarian to Faculty of Science
  • Breda Connell | Tel: 059 9175776 | Email: Breda.Connell@itcarlow.ie | Lifelong Learning and Research Services Librarian

Staff - How to Request Books for Inclusion in the Library

Staff can request print books and ebooks for inclusion in the Library's collections by filling out the online Library Item Request Form below. All item requests will be collated and sent to the relevant Head of Department / Function for approval.

Please note that currently ordering ebooks is preferred as these will be available to staff and students within a much shorter timeframe than ordering print books.

Inter-Library Loans

There is a limited ILL service available due to COVID-19 restrictions. 

The Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service is a document delivery service providing access to material such as books, journal articles or dissertations that are not available in our Libraries.

This service is available to:

  • 3rd/4th year undergraduates (working on Final Year Projects)
  • Postgraduate Students
  • Staff

Copyright requirements must be observed and as such you must confirm that the material you requested is for your own personal use only and not for commercial use. This declaration forms part of the online request form.

Teaching & Learning Centre

The Teaching and Learning Centre works with colleagues across the institute to improve the student learning experience. Please visit https://www.itcarlow.ie/study/teaching-learning-centre.htm or email tlc@itcarlow.ie for more information.

undefined

Computing Services

Computing Services can be contacted by emailing Helpdesk@itcarlow.ie or by phoning Ext. 5660 or 1111.

More information on Computing Services is available at: