Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Return to Library 2020: Online Resources

This guide provides information for library users on returning to the library in autumn 2020, and quick links to resources and information.

Library & Subject Guides

The library team at IT Carlow have compiled a set of subject guides, useful resources and research assistance called LibGuides which include library guides on:

In addition, a comprehensive set of Subject LibGuides have also been developed that give more specific guides to individual subject areas.

Library Search: Print Resources

Library Search: Print Resources is the library catalogue and lists the holdings of IT Carlow libraries incluing books, journals, theses, Government & Official publications as well as audio-visual material. The library catalogue is the starting point for locating information on a particular subject as it allows users to search simultaneously across all these holdings. The library catalogue is available at: http://www.itcarlow.ie/library/home.htm.

OPAC (Online Public Access Catalogue) terminals are located on the ground floor of the library and beside the Library Desk.

More information on how to use Library Search: Print Resources effectively can be found at https://libguides.itcarlow.ie/introduction/catalogue.

Ebooks - How to Access Electronic Books

Staff and students of IT Carlow can make use of the online facilities provided by the library to download and read electronic books. Ebooks are available through several databases with the main ebook resource being ProQuest's Ebook Central which has over 180,000 ebooks covering all subject areas.

Please Note: This video refers to EDS which has been renamed as 'Search and Find: Online Resources' but the functionality remains the same.

Search and Find: Online Resources

Search and Find: Online Resources is the library's online search tool. It offers users a simple way of accessing the libraries electronic resources including ejournals, newspaper articles, conference proceedings, reports and magazine articles through a single search. It helps you to quickly find resources related to your subject without specifying a particular database(s) to search.

Accessing Resources Remotely

The Library provides access to a wide range of online resources which can be accessed both on-campus and off-campus.

After you click on Search and Find: Online Resources or an individual database link from our A-Z Databases list, you will need to enter your IT Carlow network username and password (e.g. your student number and the same password that you use to log into your email or Blackboard) to access the online resource. For more information see our Off-Campus Access LibGuide.

Ejournals - How to Find Electronic Journal Articles

Students and staff can search for ejournal articles via ‘Search and Find: Online Resources’ from the Library homepage. Simply type keywords, titles or authors into the search box pictured below and click "Search". Once you have done this you will be asked to log in with your IT Carlow network username and password. This will conduct a quick search of the Library's ejournal databases and other online resources.

When a search results list is displayed, it will by default list all results where full-text access is available. If required, the Source Types option can also be set to Academic Journals to only display results from high-quality academic journals:

When you have decided on the title you wish to view, click on PDF Full Text, Full Text Finder, Linked Full Text or HTML Full-Text to link to the full-text of a document. This will take you to the requested article.

You can also search for ejournal articles in other databases from our A-Z Databases list. Ejournal databases include:

Please Note: This video refers to EDS which has been renamed as 'Search and Find: Online Resources' but the functionality remains the same.

A-Z List of Databases

The Library subscribes to a wide range of databases covering the subjects taught at IT Carlow. Most of these databases are searchable through ‘Search and Find: Online Resources’ or alternatively can be searched individually via the A-Z Database list.

The following databases are not searchable via 'Search and Find: Online Resources':

Publication Search

It is possible to search within publication (e.g. an individual ejournal), browse a listing of available publications by subject discipline or find a specific ejournal or ebook title by using the Publications Tool or by clicking on the Publications tab (top of screen) of Search and Find: Online Resources.

 

The video tutorial below will show you how to search for an individual ejournal title from IT Carlow Library's extensive ejournal collections.

Please Note: This video refers to EDS which has been renamed as 'Search and Find: Online Resources' but the functionality remains the same.