SETU Carlow provides access to a wide range of online databases which give comprehensive coverage of the subjects taught at SETU Carlow. The majority of these databases can be searched via the Search and Find: Online Resources Service as well as through their individual search interfaces. Most of the databases are available for on- or off-campus access. Where off-campus access is not available this is shown in the database list available on the SETU Carlow Libraries website.
Please note that SETU Carlow Library databases are for private, individual use and research only, and can only be accessed by currently registered SETU Carlow students and staff. Content from library databases must not be used for commercial purposes and data may not be shared with any third party. Please be aware that if you choose to use the added functionality of the databases, such as creating a personal account, each database will have a different privacy policy. SETU Carlow strongly advises that you read any privacy notice from such third parties before using such functionality.
A comprehensive collection of Irish and international newspapers are available online, via the following databases:
The Irish Newspaper Archive is the world's largest database of Irish Newspapers with publications dating back to 1738. This database provides full-text access to a range of Irish national and local newspapers.
The Nexis Uni database provides full-text access to a broad range of Irish and International newspaper publications.
The databases most relevant to Media and Public Relations are as follows:
Infotrac Academic OneFile is a source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
This resource features almost 9,000 full-text journals, and offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of non-business areas of academic study including: biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, women's studies and many other fields.
This resource contains more active, peer-reviewed, business-related journals than any other database currently available. Additional full-text non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (video) and more.
Full text access to 175 journals. Subjects include Business, Engineering, Marketing, Management, Quality, Human Resources, Education & Training etc. The coverage of 125 Emerald journals within the SETU Carlow subscription has been expanded to include all backfiles.
Euromonitor Passport is a global market research database providing insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, helping students analyse market context and identify future trends impacting businesses globally. SETU Carlow’s subscription includes industry research for 20 core countries (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Russia, USA, China and India) and global coverage for Economics and Consumer topics. The database includes analysis on consumer lifestyles, population trends and socioeconomic research.
Industrial Relations News (IRN) is a weekly Irish publication providing comprehensive coverage of all industrial and employee relations issues. Contents include: News, analysis and features on all current industrial/employee developments, Local and national pay bargaining, Labour law developments, Employment Appeals Tribunal and Equality Officer cases, Impact of EU Directives on industrial relations and employment law and Coverage of Labour Court and Labour Relations Commission (LRC) cases. SETU Carlow subscribes to this online edition which gives access to all issues from 1997 onwards
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Most articles can also be downloaded as MP3 files.
JSTOR is an archive of academic journal back issues. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and related titles. However, the most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available, but users can search this recent material and link to the full text (depending on subscription status). SETU Carlow subscribes to Arts & Sciences IV module which has a strong focus on the professions of business, education, and law, and also includes titles in psychology and public policy and administration.
This latest version of MarketLine replaces Datamonitor360 and gives access to a unique mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world. The content includes company SWOT analyses, company overviews, industry profiles, case studies, country analyses, country statistics and latest news and developments.
The Nexis Uni database provides access to the Company Dossier and Market Insight platform. Dossier collates information from authoritative business, news, country, market research and industry sources and provides you with pre-formatted reports in an instant, and company, industry and executive profiles. This platform enables you to gain Insights and current information including financial information on national and international companies and the industries they operate in.
This database also provides access to a comprehensive range of online national and international newspapers.
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications in the US. It incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
SAGE Business Cases is a digital collection of business cases tailored to library needs – providing faculty, students and researchers with unlimited access to more than 3,650 authoritative cases from over 100 countries. SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
Access to 1,600+ journals from Elsevier. Mainly Science, although Business, Economics, Engineering, Maths, Computing and Social Science is also included. Full-text is available for last 6 years by clicking on 'Publications' button.
The majority of the above listed databases can be accessed from outside SETU Carlow. For Off-Campus log-in, users will be asked to enter their SETU Carlow network log-in and password. Please consult our Off-Campus Access Guide for more information.