Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science: Journals & E-journals

General guide to Science resources at IT Carlow Library

Print Journals

The Library subscribes to a number of print journals in the area of Science.  Journals are often a source of the most current information on a topic and are arranged in subject order like books using Dewey shelf numbers:

Nature                                                                           shelved at                   500.9

Biochemistry and  Molecular Biology Education   shelved at                    572

 

The current year’s journals are located in Stack 17 on the ground floor beside the Reference collection.  The most recent issue is shelved facing outwards and back issues are stored under the angled display shelf. 

Journal Archive

Except for the current year, back issues of journals are shelved in the Journal Archive Stacks #9 - 13 on the Ground Floor. These are also arranged in Dewey Decimal Classification System order.

Journals may not be borrowed but articles maybe photocopied (subject to Copyright and Related Rights Act, 2000).

Some print journals allow online access as part of the subscription.  The link for online access is incorporated into the library catalogue record for the particular journal title.

 

Popular Science Journals

Open Access Journals

Open Access journals offer unrestricted access to published research work. Some of the major open access services related to Science are listed below:

Bentham Open: Science - publishes a range of peer-reviewed, open access journals. These free-to-view online journals cover all major areas of science, medicine, technology and social sciences.

Biomed Central - Biomed Central publishes 300 peer-reviewed journals giving access to research in science, technology, engineering and medicine.

eLife - eLife is an open-access journal that publishes research in the life and biomedical sciences. eLife was founded in 2011 by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, the Max Planck Society and the Wellcome Trust​

 

Electronic Journals

Apart from the print journals to which the library subscribes, there are over 30,000 journals, newspaper and magazine titles available in full-text to IT Carlow users via subscriptions to online databases. Off-campus access to these resources is also available to all staff and registered students of the Institute.

To do a one-stop online search of these resources users can use  Search and Find : Online Resources. Using Basic or Advanced searching, users can browse for relevant material,

Users can also browse the listing of available resources by discipline through this Discovery service.

For more detailed information on using Search and Find : Online Resources, please see our Search and Find : Online Resources (EDS) Guide.

Searching journals outside of IT Carlow subscriptions

Many journal publishers now provide free searching across all their journals.  Access, however, to the full-text of articles requires a subscription.  Nevertheless, the following multi-disciplinary online services may prove useful in identifying relevant articles, which may be available to you via the interlibrary loan system.  Access to these platforms is via the database listing on the Library website.

IngentaConnect

IngentaConnect offers searchable access to over 4.5 million articles from 13,500+ electronic publications.  IT Carlow patrons can search this resource.  However, full-text access is only available for around 21 subscribed titles.

Sage Online Journals

Sage academic journals cover a wide spectrum of subject areas including Science, Technology & Medicine.  Whilst IT Carlow does not have full-text access, it is a useful resource for identifying material that maybe of interest.

Springerlink

Springerlink is one of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection. Even though IT Carlow does not have a full-text subscription to this resource, it is still a powerful central access point for students, researchers and academics. It provides an index to, and abstracts of, most of the published output of Springer Science+Business Media Deutschland GmbH. Subject areas covered by the database include [Architecture, Design and Arts] [Behavioral Science] [Biomedical and Life Sciences] [Business and Economics] [Chemistry and Materials Science] [Computer Science] [Earth and Environmental Science] [Engineering] [Humanities, Social Sciences and Law] [Mathematics and Statistics] [Medicine] [Physics and Astronomy].

Wiley Online Library

This platform hosts a broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering a variety of subject areas.  Whilt IT Carlow patrons can search over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, full-text access is only available for approximately 25 titles.