Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science: Subject Databases

General guide to Science resources at IT Carlow Library

Subject Databases

The library provides access to a wide range of online databases which give comprehensive coverage of the subjects taught at IT Carlow. The majority of these databases can be searched via the Search and Find : Online Resources service as well as through their individual search interfaces. Most of the databases are available for on- or off-campus access. Where off-campus access is not available this is shown in the database list available on the Library website.

Please note that IT Carlow Library databases are for private, individual use and research only, and can only be accessed by currently registered IT Carlow students and staff. Content from library databases must not be used for commercial purposes and data may not be shared with any third party. Please be aware that if you choose to use the added functionality of the databases, such as creating a personal account, each database will have a different privacy policy. The Institute strongly advises that you read any privacy notice from such third parties before using such functionality.

Newspapers

The Library subscribes to a number of print newspapers including:

The Irish Times, Irish Independent, Financial Times, Daily Mirror and the Carlow Nationalist.

Current editions of these papers are available in Stack 13A on the ground floor.

The Carlow Nationalist is available for consultation at the Library Issue Desk.

A comprehensive collection of Irish and international newspapers are available online, via the Nexis Uni database.

Please ask Library staff for more details.

Key Science Databases

The databases most relevant to Science are as follows:

Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria (BMSAB)

Bergey's Manual is the most complete and authoritative description of bacterial and archaeal diversity and provides descriptions of the taxonomy, systematics, ecology, physiology and other biological properties of all described prokaryotic taxa.

Infotrac General One File

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Most articles can also be downloaded as MP3 files.

Journals@Ovid 

An aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. Full-text access is restricted to the titles for which IT Carlow has subscriptions :  American Journal of Sports Medicine, Exercise & Sports Science Reviews, Journal of Strength & Conditioning Research, Medicine & Science in Sports and Exercise, Strength and Conditioning Journal. In addition, the database contains links to freely available full-text articles.

Science Classic

An online archive provides full-text PDF access to all issues of the journal Science published between the first issue in July, 1880 and December 1996.

ScienceDirect

Access to 1,600+ journals from Elsevier. Mainly Science, although Business, Economics, Engineering, Maths, Computing and Social Science is also included. Full-text is available for last 6 years. In addition access is offered to over 250,000 open access publications.

Web of Science

The Web of Science platform gives access to regional citation indexes, patent data, specialized subject indexes, and an index of research data sets, in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Art & Humanities covering over 33,000 journals. Where available links to the full-text of journal articles are provided: where full-text access is unavailable an article abstract is given.

 

The majority of the above listed databases can be accessed from outside I.T Carlow.  For Off-Campus log-in, users will be asked to enter their I.T Carlow network log-in and password. Please consult our Off-Campus Access Guide for more information.