Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science: Websites

General guide to Science resources at IT Carlow Library

Gateways

arXiv.org - Open access to 1,432,704 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics.

bioRxiv.org - bioRxiv is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory,

ENFO - ENFO is Ireland's public information service on environmental matters and sustainable development.This bibliographic database covers the period 1990 - Present.

ExPASy - ExPASy is a bioinformatics resource portal which provides access to scientific databases and software tools (i.e., resources) in different areas of life sciences including proteomics, genomics, phylogeny, systems biology, population genetics, transcriptomics etc.

MedNar - Mednar is a free, medically-focused deep web search engine that uses Explorit Everywhere!, an advanced search technology by Deep Web Technologies. As an alternative to Google, Mednar accelerates research with a search of authoritative public and deep web resources, returning the most relevant results to one easily navigable page.

Open Research Central - Open Research Central provides free and open access to published research primarily in the life sciences. The research outputs range from data notes and small, negative or confirmatory findings, to full research articles, methods and software tool articles

PLOS ONE  PLOS ONE provides access to  open access research in over two hundred subject areas across science, engineering, medicine, and the related social sciences and humanities.

PubMed  - PubMed provides access to over 28 million citations from biomedical literature through the US National Library of Medicine National Institutes of Health database MEDLINE, links to full-text articles are provided where available.

SciCentral access to the scientific research news sources on the web.

Science.gov  - Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. federal science information including research and development results.

WorldWideScience.org - WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.

General

AlgaeBase - AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms.

Biodiversity Heritage Library - The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community..

Cells Alive! - Cells alive! represents 30 years of capturing film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research. The site has been available continuously and updated annually since May of 1994.

Eurachem - a focus for analytical chemistry and quality related issues in Europe.

Laboratory News - online newspaper focusing on laboratory science related issues.

National Centre for Biotechnology Information (U.S.)

Physics World - access to a wide range of physics-related material and information, provided by IOP Publishing.

ScienceNordic - ScienceNordic, launched in November 2011, is the English-language source for science news from the Nordic countries and covers the human sciences as well as natural science, health and technology.

Institutions

American Society for Microbiology

Environmental Protection Agency

Environmental Sciences Association of Ireland

European Environment Agency - The European Environment Agency (EEA) is an agency of the European Union, whose task is to provide independent information on the environment. The EEA aims to support sustainable development by helping to achieve significant and measurable improvement in Europe's environment, through the provision of timely, targeted, relevant and reliable information to policymaking agents and the public.

Food Safety Authority of Ireland - The principal function of the Food Safety Authority of Ireland is to protect consumers and raise compliance through partnership, science and food law enforcement.

Forensic Science Ireland - Forensic Science Ireland is an associated office of the Department of Justice and Equality. It provides independent expert opinion, advice, training and research to support the Irish Criminal Justice system.

Institute of Biology Ireland

Marine Institute - The Marine Institute is the State agency responsible for marine research, technology development and innovation in Ireland. It provides scientific and technical advice to Government to help inform policy and to support the sustainable development of Ireland’s marine resource.

Royal Society of Chemistry - The website of the UK Royal Society of Chemistry: provides access to an online Periodic Table of the Elements and the Chemspider chemical structure database.

Science Foundation Ireland

Teagasc - the national body providing integrated research, advisory and training services to the agriculture and food industry and rural communities.