The Library subscribes to a number of print newspapers including:
The Irish Times, Irish Independent, Financial Times, Daily Mirror and the Carlow Nationalist.
Current editions of these papers are available in Stack 13A on the ground floor.
The Carlow Nationalist is available for consultation at the Library Issue Desk.
A comprehensive collection of Irish and international newspapers are available online, via the Nexis Uni database.
Please ask Library staff for more details.
The databases most relevant to Computing and Networking are as follows:
IEEE Xplore - IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than four-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
Infotrac General One File - A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Most articles can also be downloaded as MP3 files.
Access to 1,600+ journals from Elsevier. Mainly Science, although Business, Economics, Engineering, Maths, Computing and Social Science is also included. Full-text is available for last 6 years. In addition access is offered to over 250,000 open access publications.
Scopus is Elsevier's abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature – scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. With over 25,100 titles from more than 5,000 publishers, Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the fields of science, technology, medicine social sciences and arts and humanities. Scopus features smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research. More information on Scopus can be found here.
The Web of Science platform gives access to regional citation indexes, patent data, specialized subject indexes, and an index of research data sets, in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Art & Humanities covering over 33,000 journals. Where available links to the full-text of journal articles are provided: where full-text access is unavailable an article abstract is given.
The majority of the above listed databases can be accessed from outside I.T Carlow. Users will be asked to enter their I.T Carlow network log-in and password for login. Please consult our Off-Campus Access Guide for more information.