Skip to main content

Introduction to IT Carlow Library: Off-Campus Access

IT Carlow Library's guide to using the library

Off Campus Access

The Library provides access to a wide range of online resources which can be accessed from both on- and off-campus.

Login to all library online resources is done using the IT Carlow network login.

Off-campus access to resources requires login: this guide gives a brief explanation of how login works.

Online Databases

Individual online databases can be accessed via the A-Z database page on the main library at:

http://www.itcarlow.ie/library/services/a-z-list-of-databases.htm

Most of these databases, (except where indicated), can be accessed off-campus by clicking on the required link. Once this is done a login page is displayed. Enter your IT Carlow network username and passsword.

EDS

The EDS web discovery service can be accessed by using the search box on the library website home page: http://www.itcarlow.ie/library/home.htm or by connecting via the EDS link on the Services page: http://www.itcarlow.ie/library/services.htm.

From off-campus login at the EDS home page can be done by clicking on;

displayed at the top of the page. This will open the EDS login page.
Enter your IT Carlow network Username and Password

Using Full-Text Finder Links in EDS

After logging into EDS, when a list of results for a search is displayed , when a  link is selected, a login screen will be displayed:

Select Click here to login to continue.
Once this is done for the first time it will not need to be repeated during a searching session.
If an off-campus search of EDS is done without logging in as described previously, when any full-text link is selected, whether this is a Full-Text finder link or a PDF Full Text link, a network login will then be required. This will only need to be done once.

Need More Help?

For assistance with off-campus login, please contact the library:
Phone: 059 9175760
Email: libdesk@itcarlow.ie