Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to IT Carlow Library: Using the Library

IT Carlow Library's guide to using the library

Introduction

Welcome to the Library Service of the Institute of Technology Carlow. The services provided by the Library include book lending, individual and group study facilities, photocopying, information retrieval service and access to a range of online databases.

The Library holds a broad range of resources both printed and electronic to support the research needs of the Institute.  These include books, e-books, journals, case studies, databases, official publications, newspapers and various other items.

Term Opening Hours

Please note that the following opening hours are the standard term time opening hours but these opening hours may change for the 2020/2021 Academic Year.

LRC - Carlow Campus Library
Monday - Friday: 8.45am - 10.00pm
Saturday: 9.00am - 5.00pm*
The Library desk service closes 15 minutes before closing time.  An announcement will be made 30 minutes before closing time.

Wexford Campus Library
Monday - Thursday: 9.30am-10.00pm (closed 5.30pm to 6.00pm)
Friday: 9.30am - 5.00pm
Saturday: 9.00am - 4.00pm*

Wicklow Campus Library
Monday to Thursday: 6.45pm - 7.15pm & 8.15pm - 8.45pm (term time only)

*Please note the Carlow Campus and Wexford Campus Libraries are closed for Bank Holiday weekends and operate reduced hours over the summer.

Borrowing Allowance / Loan Period

For the 2020/2021 Academic Year, the following borrowing entitlements and conditions will be in operation in the LRC and the Wexford Campus Library.

General Lending Collection: This collection consists of books which maybe borrowed for up to one week at a time and can be renewed up to three times. These are shelved in Stacks 1-11 (ground floor LRC) and Stack 21 (first floor of LRC).

  • Undergraduate Students - Full & Part-time: 4 items
  • Postgraduate students: 6 items    
  • Staff: 10 items

Short Loan Collection: This collection consists of books which are in high demand.  These are shelved in Stack 11 in the LRC. The loan period has been extended to one week (from two nights) with a further renewal of one week permitted.

  • All students / staff: 2 items

Note: You cannot renew a book if another person has requested the book. The book will need to be returned at to the library at the end of the loan period.

Note: Reference material, theses and journals may not be borrowed.

Borrowing & Returning Books - Library Desk

All registered staff and students may borrow books from the three campus libraries in Carlow, Wexford and Wicklow. In addition to using the self-service machines in the LRC, you can borrow books using your student ID card at the Library Desk in each of the campus libraries. Your student ID card is also your library card and entitles you to use the library services.

All items for return can be handed in at the Library Desk in each campus or returned using the self-service machines in the LRC.

Staff will have a library account created on request but are not issued with a library card. To borrow books staff must bring the books to the Library Desk in each of the campuses. Staff can return books both at the self-service machines in the LRC and the Library Desks.

Borrowing & Returning Books - Self-Issue Machines

In the Carlow campus library, there are two self-issue machines that can be used to borrow/return a book. To borrow a book, select Check Out or Borrow, scan your Student ID card and place the book(s) on the glass shelf below the screen. To finish the transaction press finish/done. To return a book, select Return(s), place your book on the glass shelf below the screen and press finish/done. Returned books can be placed on the trolley or in the Returns Bin beside each machine.

Self service kiosks in IT Carlow LRC

Fines

Fines are charged on overdue items at the following rates:

Main Lending Collection:            10c per day

Short Loan Collection:                €1 per day

It is not possible to borrow from the Library if fines on a patron’s account exceed €5.00

Finding a Book

The 'Library Search ; Print Resources' service is the starting point for locating information on a particular subject. It is a searchable listing of all materials held in IT Carlow libraries. Users can search this listing under a variety of search options such as Author, Title, Subject etc.

The Library Search ; Print Resources can be accessed at:  https://libsearch.itcarlow.ie

Book Collection

The main Library collections in the Carlow campus are as follows:

General Lending Collection: The major part of the Library’s stock is shelved in the main lending areas (Stacks 1-11) and Stack 21 (first floor).

Short Loan Collection: Consists of books that are in high demand, the loan period is therefore restricted (Stack 11).

Reference Collection: Contains dictionaries, encyclopaedias, law reports etc. For reference use in the Library only (Stacks 22-23), located on the first floor.

Law Reference Collection: Contains various law reports, textbooks and the Geoffrey Hand Collection (Stacks 17-19).

Journal Collection: Contains printed journals in the various subject areas. Current journals are located on Stack 20, back issues of journals are located in the journal archive section (Stacks12-16).

E-Books

IT Carlow now subscribes to over 100,000 electronic books which are available over the internet. These can be accessed both on-campus and off-campus. Off-campus access requires login using your IT Carlow network log-in and password. All e-books are accessible via the Library website.

Subject Databases

The Library subscribes to a wide range of databases covering the subjects taught at IT Carlow. Most of these databases are searchable through our Search and Find: Online Resources service or alternatively can be searched individually (via the Library website).

The majority of the listed databases can be accessed from outside IT Carlow. For Off-Campus log-in, users will be asked to enter their IT Carlow network log-in and password. Please see https://libguides.itcarlow.ie/introduction/off-campus or contact Library staff for more information.

Quiet Room

A room for silent study is located on the LRC Ground Floor.  Students using it are expected to work quietly and without disturbance to others.

Library Web Pages

The Library web pages contain further information about the Library and its services. All of the Library’s electronic resources such as the Library catalogue, e-books, e-journals and databases are accessible via these pages.  Any developments in services and other news will be posted there.  Go to: www.itcarlow.ie/library/home.htm

You can also follow the Library on Facebook and Twitter:

 I.T. Carlow Library

 @ITCarlowLibrary

Need More Help?

If you have any difficulty in using any of these services, please contact the Library Information Desk in the Carlow Campus Library: 059 9175760 or LibraryHelp@itcarlow.ie.

Wexford Campus Library contact details: 053 9185811 / wexfordlib@itcarlow.ie

Wicklow Campus Library contact details: 0404 67125 / imelda.mccarthy@itcarlow.ie 

Security

A security system is in operation. Readers who unofficially remove Library material without having it issued on their account will activate the security system and may have their borrowing privileges removed.

Points to Note

  • Do not leave personal belongings unattended.
  • Please return books etc. from desks to their correct place on the shelves or to the nearest shelving trolley.
  • No eating or drinking except bottled water.
  • Please keep noise to a minimum.
  • In the Carlow campus, the group work areas are on the second floor and the Quiet Study Room and ground floor is for individual study only.
  • Please have your ID card with you at all times in order to use the Library services.
  • Please put mobile phones on silent. The use of mobile phones for voice messaging is not permitted in the open areas of the LRC in the Carlow campus. All voice messaging from within the LRC must take place in the enclosed stairwells on each floor. Text messaging is permitted in the LRC with the exception of the Quiet Study Room. In the Wexford and Wicklow campuses, calls and voice messages can only be taken in the hallway.

A full listing of the Learning Resource Centre (LRC) Regulations for the Carlow campus are available in the Student Handbook.