Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Early Childhood Studies: Subject Databases

Subject Databases

The library provides access to a wide range of online databases which give comprehensive coverage of the subjects taught at IT Carlow. The majority of these databases can be searched via the Search and Find: Online Resources Web Discovery Service as well as through their individual search interfaces. Most of the databases are available for on- or off-campus access. Where off-campus access is not available this is shown in the database list available on the Library website.

Please note that IT Carlow Library databases are for private, individual use and research only, and can only be accessed by currently registered IT Carlow students and staff. Content from library databases must not be used for commercial purposes and data may not be shared with any third party. Please be aware that if you choose to use the added functionality of the databases, such as creating a personal account, each database will have a different privacy policy. The Institute strongly advises that you read any privacy notice from such third parties before using such functionality.

Newspapers

A comprehensive collection of Irish and international newspapers are available online, via the Nexis Uni database.

Please ask Library staff for more detail.

Key Early Childhood Databases

The databases most relevant to Early Childhood are as follows:

Academic Search Complete

This resource features almost 9,000 full-text journals, and offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of non-business areas of academic study including: biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, women's studies and many other fields. 

Emerald Insight

Full text access to 175 journals. Subjects include Business, Engineering, Marketing, Management, Quality, Human Resources, Education & Training etc. The coverage of 125 Emerald journals within the IT Carlow subscription has been expanded to include all backfiles.‚Äč

Infotrac General One File

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Most articles can also be downloaded as MP3 files. 

JSTOR

JSTOR is an archive of academic journal back issues. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and related titles. However, the most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available, but users can search this recent material and link to the full text (depending on subscription status). IT Carlow subscribes to Arts & Sciences IV module which has a strong focus on the professions of business, education, and law, and also includes titles in psychology and public policy and administration.

Nexis Uni

The Nexis Uni database provides access to the Company Dossier and Market Insight platform. Dossier collates information from authoritative business, news, country, market research and industry sources and provides you with pre-formatted reports in an instant, and company, industry and executive profiles. This platform enables you to gain Insights and current information including financial information on national and international companies and the industries they operate in.
This database also provides access to a comprehensive range of online national and international newspapers.

Research Starters

Research Starters Sociology Offers convenient 3,000-word topic overviews with concise, yet comprehensive content on 500 topics and quality study guides written by subject matter experts who have been consulted to ensure that the articles encompass current trends and hot topics.

Science Direct

Access to 1,600+ journals from Elsevier. Mainly Science, although Business, Economics, Engineering, Maths, Computing and Social Science is also included. Full-text is available for last 6 years by clicking on 'Publications' button. 

Siren Films

The UKs leading creators of educational videos for early years practitioners.  You can search by area of child development, specific theories, areas of play, learning strategies and age or setting.

Social Science & Humanities Library (T&F)

The major subject areas covered by the SSH library are: Arts & Humanities, Behavioral Science, Business, Management & Economics, Criminology & Law, Education, Planning, Urban & Environment, Media, Cultural & Communication Studies, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Public Health & Social Care, Sociology & Related Disciplines, Sport, Leisure & Tourism. Coverage is from 1997 onwards. This site also allows the searching of all Taylor & Francis online publications.

Social Sciences (H.W. Wilson)

Provides full-text access to 215 journals and indexing/abstracting of over 625 journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

Web of Science

Provides multidisciplinary literature coverage including cited references in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Search backward and forward in time with cited reference searching, analyze results, search over 100 years of back files. In addition, the CrossSearch facility allows the extension of a search to multiple freely-available databases.

 

The majority of the above listed databases can be accessed from outside I.T Carlow.  For Off-Campus log-in, users will be asked to enter their I.T Carlow network log-in and password. Please consult our Off-Campus Access Guide for more information.