Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Early Childhood Studies: Websites

Gateways

Barnardo's UK Research Links

Listing of UK research resources.

Childrensdatabase.ie

childrensdatabase.ie was created by the Office of the Minister for Children (OMC) to provide access to research and information on children for policy-makers, Government departments, academics, voluntary organisations and the general public.

Childwatch International Research Network 

Childwatch International is a nonprofit, nongovernmental network of institutions engaged in research for children. The Network seeks to strengthen child-centred research to contribute towards real improvement in children's well-being.

Health-EU: The Public Health Portal of the European Union

Offers a wide range of information and data on health-related issues and activities at both European and international level. The main objective of this thematic Portal is to provide European citizens with easy access to comprehensive information on Public Health initiatives and programmes at EU level. The portal is intended to help meet EU objectives in the Public Health field, it is an important instrument to positively influence behaviour and promote the steady improvement of public health in the 25 EU Member States.

Irish Social Care Gateway

The Irish directory of information for social care practitioners, students, academics and those interested in care issues. The Gateway is maintained by the social care programme at the Institute of Technology, Sligo, on behalf of the Irish Association of Social Care Educators.

Scoilnet

Irish education portal.

‚Äč

 

Directories

Active Link – Online network of Irish non-profit organisations

Activelink works with non-profit organisations to develop online communications in the public interest, to promote action and participation and to foster the sharing of ideas, experience and information for a better world.

General

Childcare Online

Dublin City Childcare Committee website provides latest news and information on childcare for parents and providers, setting up a childcare facility, funding opportunities, children's rights and child protection, family fun, discussion boards, and much, much more!

Childminding Ireland – the National Association of Childminders

Childminding Ireland, as the National Childmindinding Association of Ireland, is committed to the development of quality in family home based care for children by providing a range of services and training to Childminders and Parents and by participating in local Childminding networks.

ChildOn: European Network of National Observatories on Childhood

This site supports the exchange of knowledge and information on laws, policies, programmes, statistics, studies, research, best practices regarding childhood and adolescence;  the exchange of knowledge on methodology and indicators in order to obtain comparability of information; comparative analysis on specific subjects.

Citizens Information

Citizens Information is an Irish eGovernment website provided by the Citizens Information Board. The site provides public service information for Ireland.

Early Childhood Care and Education Research Database

The aim of the CECDE is to develop and co-ordinate early childhood education in pursuance of the objectives of the White Paper 'Ready to Learn' and to advise the Department of Education and Science on policy issues in this area. The Centre's brief covers children from birth to 6 years of age in a wide variety of settings, including families, nurseries, crèches, playgroups, child minders, preschools and the infant classes of primary schools.

Economic and Social Research Council (UK) Society Today

The Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) is the UK's leading research funding and training agency addressing economic and social concerns. We aim to provide high quality research on issues of importance to business, the public sector and government.

Early Childhood Ireland

Early Childhood Ireland is the largest voluntary organisation working for young children and their families in Ireland.

Irish Association of Young People in Care

This site has been designed to inform the public and interested professionals in related fields, about the work of the Irish Association of Young People in Care.

ISPCC

Provides information on services.

National Council for Curriculum & Assessment

The role of the NCCA is to lead developments in curriculum and assessment and to support the implementation of changes resulting from this work. The NCCA works in a spirit of consensus and partnership. It seeks to promote an innovative and creative environment for all learners in schools and other educational settings.

National Parents Council

National Parents Council Primary (NPC) is the nation-wide organisation representing parents of children attending early and primary education. NPC is recognised by the Government and the Education Act 1998 as the body representing you as parents. Our aim is to improve and enrich the education of all children and support parents to get involved in their children's learning at home, in the community and at school.

National Youth Council of Ireland

NYCI is a representative body for national voluntary youth organisations, which acts on issues that impact on young people.

Siolta: The National Quality Framework for Early Childhood Education

Síolta represents the edited work of a wide range of stakeholders in the early childhood care and education (ECCE) sector in Ireland.

UK Every Child Matters

Cross-Government working with local partners to achieve better outcomes for children and young people. Includes sections on early years and childcare, education, training and employment, health, parents, carers and families, social care, welfare and protection, and youth justice.

UK Sure Start

Sure Start is a government programme which aims to achieve better outcomes for children, parents and communities by increasing the availability of childcare for all children, improving health and emotional development for young children and supporting parents as parents and in their aspirations towards employment.

World Health Organisation Europe

Statistical datasets and links to databases, country profiles and publications for European countries.