Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil Engineering: E-Books

A guide to Civil Engineering Resources provided by the Library at IT Carlow.

E-Book Collections

The Library subscribes to a number of online e-book platforms which are relevant for the subject area of Civil Engineering and Related Subjects .  An e-book is an electronic version of a printed book which can be read on a personal computer or hand-held device.  These searchable platforms are accessible via the library website and include:

Irish Construction Information Service:

Full text access to CIBSE Guides, Standards, BRe Publications, NSAI Publications with relevance to construction, RIAI Publications and Technical Guidance Documents. Government Publications and much much more are provided by the The Irish Construction Information Service Plus. The subscription allows for full-text access to thousands of E-Books from some of the leading construction and architectural publishers. 

ICE e-Books & ICE Proceedings Collection: Institute of Civil Engineers

ICE Publishing describes itself as “one of the leading providers of authoritative and comprehensive information for professionals and academics in civil engineering and construction world-wide. Our books include multi-author reference works, state-of-the-art reports, technical books, conference proceedings and contract documents.”

Staff from the School of Engineering have chosen a selection of e-Books from the Institute of Civil Engineers (UK).  Currently there are 122 titles accessed through this collection.

E-Book Central:

This multi-disciplinary database provides access to a large collection of book titles covering a wide range of subject areas including Management.  A personal bookshelf can be used to store titles.  All e-books previously supplied through MyiLibrary are now available in EBook central.

Sage Handbook Collection:

This contains 170+ authoritative, international, and interdisciplinary handbooks across the social sciences. This Collection is hosted on the SAGE Reference Online platform and covers subjects such as Aging & Gerontology, Business & Management, Communication & Media Studies, Counselling & Psychotherapy, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Family Studies, Gender & Sexuality Studies, Geography, Health & Social Welfare, History, Politics & International Relations, Psychology, Public Policy & Public Administration, Research Methods & Evaluation, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, Sociology, Urban Studies & Planning. 

 

For more information about using our ebooks, please see our Using E-Books Guide.

E-BOOKS

Using EBook Central