|
The Library subscribes to print journals on behalf of the Department of the Built Environment. Journals are often a source of the most current information on a topic and are arranged in subject order like books using Dewey shelf numbers, e.g.: |
|
Civil Engineering Surveyor |
624 |
|
Ground Engineering |
624.15 |
The current year’s journals are located in Stack 17 on the ground floor beside the Reference collection. The most recent issue is shelved facing outwards and back issues are stored under the angled display shelf.
Journal Archive
Except for the current year, back issues of journals are shelved in the Journal Archive Stacks #9 - 13 on the Ground Floor. These are also arranged in Dewey Decimal Classification System order.
Journals may not be borrowed but articles maybe photocopied (subject to Copyright and Related Rights Act, 2000).
Some print journals allow online access as part of the subscription. The link for online access is incorporated into the library catalogue record for the particular journal title.
Irish Construction Information Service:
The starting point for all Construction and Building related research including Full text access to a collection of online Journals from leading Irish and UK Architecture and Construction Publishers.
Off-campus access to these resources is also available to all staff and registered students.
The Irish Construction information Service has been designed for use on PC, Smartphone or Tablet and the screen layout and positioning will resize depending upon the device you are using.
The Search and Find: Online Resources. is a further one-stop online journal resource where users can search using Basic or Advanced searching. Users can search or browse for relevant material and available resources by discipline through this Discovery service.
For more detailed information on using Search and Find, please see our Search and Find: Online Resources Guide.
Many journal publishers now provide free searching across all their journals. Access, however, to the full-text of articles requires a subscription. Nevertheless, the following multi-disciplinary online services may prove useful in identifying relevant articles, which may be available to you via the interlibrary loan system. Access to these platforms is via the database listing on the Library website.
IngentaConnect offers searchable access to over 4.5 million articles from 13,500+ electronic publications. However, full-text access is only available for around 21 subscribed titles.
Sage academic journals cover a wide spectrum of subject areas including Management and Organization Studies.
Springerlink is one of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection. Even though IT Carlow does not have a full-text subscription to this resource, it is still a powerful central access point for students, researchers and academics. It provides an index to, and abstracts of, most of the published output of Springer Science+Business Media Deutschland GmbH. Subject areas covered by the database include [Architecture, Design and Arts] [Behavioral Science] [Biomedical and Life Sciences] [Business and Economics] [Chemistry and Materials Science] [Computer Science] [Earth and Environmental Science] [Engineering] [Humanities, Social Sciences and Law] [Mathematics and Statistics] [Medicine] [Physics and Astronomy].
This platform hosts a broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering a variety of subject areas, full-text access is only available for approximately 25 titles.