Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mechanical Engineering: Websites

A guide to mechanical engineering resources at IT Carlow Library.

Standards

The National Standards Authority of Ireland
British Standards Institution
European Committee for Standardization. The On-line Catalogue of European Standards allows you to find all published European Standards (EN) and other approved documents directly in the catalogues of its’ National Members.
Content Online : a collection of links to resources on the web, many of which provide access to a range of standards and related information FREE OF CHARGE.

Transport

Society of Automotive Engineers :US Association access to technical and standards database
Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders :UK association industry and market data
Transport Research Laboratory :focus on accident prevention, environmental issues, infrastructure issues and safety
International Federation of Automotive Engineering Societies (FISITA) :Membership body whose mission is to help create efficient, affordable, safe and sustainable automotive transportation
Motor Industry Research Association (MIRA) :Motor industry research and market data
NASA :Links to whole range of NASA aerospace sites
Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS) : Professional Institution for the aerospace community
Royal Airforce (RAF) : Provides details of military aircraft 

Materials

A to Z of Materials (Azom.com): Free knowledge tool providing information on materials
American National Standards Institution (ANSI) : Coordinates the development and use of voluntary consensus standards in the US.
American Society for Testing & Materials (ASTM) :Voluntary standards development organisation. Source for technical standards for materials, products, systems and services.
ASM International :International society for materials engineers and scientists
ESDU (Engineering Science Data Units): Validated engineering design data, methods and software. Search for datasheets or view the abstracts.
Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3) :International professional body
Institution of Structural Engineers (IStructE): International (UK based) professional body for structural engineering
London Metal Exchange : Website of the non-ferrous metals market. Includes market data and information on the LME’s educational courses
Materials Science and Engineering Laboratory :Properties and data listed by materials property and materials class
Matweb (Free Materials database) :Searchable database of material properties
TMS Online :The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) is an International (US-based) membership association
The Welding Institute (TWI) : Membership-based company providing industry with engineering solutions in welding, joining and associated technologies
The Aluminum Association, Inc :US-based membership association
Aluselect: Computer-based reference database containing technical information on the most widely used aluminium alloys.
Irish Concrete Society : concerned with the technical aspects of design and construction in concrete.
The Cement Industry (BCA):Website includes Information on sustainability issues, health and safety and the British cement association
Copper Development Association : US-based membership body
Corrosion Source :Provides technical information related to corrosion 
NACE International :Association dedicated to protecting people, assets and environment from the effects of corrosion
British Glass
American Iron and Steel Institute : Membership association. Website provides steel industry and markets information and consumer resources.
British Stainless Steel Association : Detailed technical database available on all aspects related to stainless steel. 
International iron and steel institute :Industry membership association
Iron and steel statistics bureau: Offers publications and custom reports covering UK, European and Global trade in steel and raw materials.
Nickel Institute: Detailed technical reports available for free about nickel and nickel containing materials.
Steel Times International : Breaking news stories and searchable news archive.
Steel Construction Institute (SCI)  
UK Steel: Trade association for the UK steel industry
Platinum Metals Review : Quarterly e-journal of research on the platinum metals and of developments in their application in industry
Woodenergy.ie : information on using wood biomass as a carbon neutral, renewable energy source. Wood as fuel for heating systems etc.
Woodspec.ie : a guide to designing, drawing, detailing, specifications of timber as a building material in Ireland.
Timber Research and Development Association

AHEC Europe (American Hardwood Export Council): trade association for the US hardwood industry. The site is designed to provide access to free technical publications and on-line technical information on American hardwood species, products and grades, as well as outlining sustainable forest management in the USA.