Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TV and Media Production: Books

A guide to TV and Media Production Resources at IT Carlow Library

Finding Books

Books are arranged by subject according to the Dewey Classification System.  Each book in the Library is assigned a Dewey shelf number that identifies its subject matter.  This number can be found on the spine of the book. 

The following are the Dewey Shelf numbers relevant for TV and Media Production and Related Subjects.

771 Techniques, equipment & materials

772 Metallic salt processes

773 Pigment processes of printing

774 Holography

775 [Unassigned]

776 Computer art (Digital art)

777 Cinematography and videography

778 Specific fields & kinds of photography

779 Photographic images

790 Recreational and performing arts

791 Public performances

791.4 Motion Pictures, radio , television

792 Stage presentations

At the IT Carlow campus library the book collections are divided into three categories. The General Lending book collection from 001—699 is located on the ground floor (Stack 1-11) with the 700s—900s located on the first floor (Stack 21). Items from this collection can be borrowed for a loan period of one week.

The Short Loan collection is located on the ground floor (Stack 11). This collection contains items that are in high demand and can be borrowed for a period up to 48 hours.

The Reference collection is located on the first floor (Stack 22-23) and contains items such as dictionaries, encyclopaedias, directories, audio-visual material and handbooks. This collection also holds textbooks that are in high demand and are for library use only.

Using the Library Catalogue to find Books

On the Library homepage the default search on the Quick Search Menu is a SIMPLE search.  This search can be used  to research a topic if you do not have a specific author or title in mind.  Click the SEARCH button to execute the search.  The list of results will be sorted by relevancy.

 

When you click on a result, the full item details of that item are displayed. These include author, title, publisher, edition, description, the general subject area and shelf number location.

For more advanced searching options, link into the "click here " option. This links you to the "Advanced Search" screen, which allows you to complete a variety of combination searches using options such as keywords, author, title and shelf number.  You can also limit your results by item type, publication date range as well as library location.

For more information on searching the library catalogue, please see our LibGuide Using the Library Web Catalogue.

 

 

Popular TV and Media Production and Related Subjects Books