Skip to main content

Introduction to IT Carlow Library: Using the Library

IT Carlow Library's guide to using the library

Introduction

Welcome to the Library Service of the Institute of Technology Carlow. The services provided by the Library include book lending, individual and group study facilities, photocopying, information retrieval service and access to a range of online databases.

The Library holds a broad range of resources both printed and electronic to support the research needs of the Institute.  These include books, e-books, journals, case studies, databases, official publications, newspapers and various other items.

Term Opening Hours

LRC - Carlow Campus Library

Monday - Friday: 8.45am - 10.00pm

Saturday: 9.00am - 5.00pm*

The Library desk service closes 15 minutes before closing time.  An announcement will be made 30 minutes before closing time.

 

Wexford Campus Library

Monday - Thursday: 9.30am-10.00pm (closed 5.30pm to 6.00pm)

Friday: 9.30am - 5.00pm

Saturday: 9.00am - 4.00pm*

 

Wicklow Campus Library

Monday to Thursday: 6.45pm - 7.15pm & 8.15pm - 8.45pm (term time only)

 

*Please note the Carlow Campus and Wexford Campus Libraries are closed for Bank Holiday weekends and operate reduced hours over the summer.

Borrowing Allowance / Loan Period

General Lending Collection: This collection consists of books which maybe borrowed for up to one week at a time.  These are shelved in Stacks 0-8 and Stack 18 (first floor).

Undergraduate Students - Full & Part-time: 3 items

Postgraduate students: 6 items    

Staff: 10 items

Short Loan Collection: This collection consists of books which are in high demand.  These are shelved in Stack 9. The loan period is restricted to up to two nights or weekend loan only.

All students / staff: 2 items

How to Borrow a Book

All registered staff and students may borrow from the college Library. Books you wish to borrow should be handed in at the Library Desk together with your ID card. Your student ID card is also your library card and entitles you to use the library services. The Library Desk is the main desk just inside the entrance to the Learning Resource Centre.

Returning a Book

All items for return must be handed in at the Library Desk or placed in the Returns Bin (located beside the Library Desk). Please do not leave books unattended at the Desk. You are responsible for borrowed items until cleared on the system.

Self-Issue System

In the Carlow campus library, there are two self-issue machines that can be used to borrow/return a book. To borrow a book, select Check Out or Borrow, scan your ID card and place the book(s) on the glass shelf below the screen. To finish the transaction press finish/done. To return a book, select Return(s), place your book on the glass shelf below the screen and press finish/done. Returned books can be placed on the trolley beside each machine.

Self service kiosks in IT Carlow LRC

Fines

Fines are charged on overdue items at the following rates:

Main Lending Collection:            10c per day

Short Loan Collection:                €1 per day

It is not possible to borrow from the Library if fines on a patron’s account exceed €5.00

Finding a Book

The Library Catalogue is the starting point for locating information on a particular subject. It is a searchable listing of all materials held in IT Carlow libraries. Users can search this listing under a variety of search options such as Author, Title, Subject etc.

The library catalogue can be accessed at:  https://libsearch.itcarlow.ie

Book Collection

The main Library collections in the Carlow campus are as follows:

General Lending Collection: The major part of the Library’s stock is shelved in the main lending areas (Stacks 0-8) and Stack 18 (first floor).

Short Loan Collection: Consists of books that are in high demand, the loan period is therefore restricted (Stack 9).

Reference Collection: Contains dictionaries, encyclopaedias, law reports etc. For reference use in the Library only (Stacks 19-21), located on the first floor.

Law Reference Collection: Contains various law reports, textbooks and the Geoffrey Hand Collection (Stacks 14-16).

Journal Collection: Contains printed journals in the various subject areas.  Current journals are located on Stack 17, back issues of journals are located in the journal archive section (Stacks 9-13).

E-Books

IT Carlow now subscribes to over 100,000 electronic books which are available over the internet. These can be accessed both on-campus and off-campus. Off-campus access requires login using your IT Carlow network log-in and password. All e-books are accessible via the Library website.

Subject Databases

The Library subscribes to a wide range of databases covering the subjects taught at IT Carlow. Most of these databases are searchable through our EDS Web Discovery service or alternatively can be searched individually (via the Library website).

The majority of the listed databases can be accessed from outside IT Carlow. For Off-Campus log-in, users will be asked to enter their IT Carlow network log-in and password. Please see https://libguides.itcarlow.ie/introduction/off-campus or contact Library staff for more information.

Quiet Room

A room for silent study is located on the LRC Ground Floor.  Students using it are expected to work quietly and without disturbance to others.

Library Web Pages

The Library web pages contain further information about the Library and its services. All of the Library’s electronic resources such as the Library catalogue, e-books, e-journals and databases are accessible via these pages.  Any developments in services and other news will be posted there.  Go to: www.itcarlow.ie/library/home.htm

You can also follow the Library on Facebook and Twitter:

 I.T. Carlow Library

 @ITCarlowLibrary

Need More Help?

If you have any difficulty in using any of these services, please contact the Library Information Desk in the Carlow Campus Library: 059 9175760 or libdesk@itcarlow.ie.

Wexford Campus Library contact details: 053 9185811 / wexfordlib@itcarlow.ie

Wicklow Campus Library contact details: 0404 67125 / imelda.mccarthy@itcarlow.ie 

Security

A security system is in operation. Readers who unofficially remove Library material without having it issued on their account will activate the security system and may have their borrowing privileges removed.

Points to Note

  • Do not leave personal belongings unattended.
  • Please return books etc. from desks to their correct place on the shelves or to the nearest shelving trolley.
  • No eating or drinking except bottled water.
  • Please keep noise to a minimum.
  • In the Carlow campus, the group work areas are on the second floor and the Quiet Study Room and ground floor is for individual study only.
  • Please have your ID card with you at all times in order to use the Library services.
  • Please put mobile phones on silent. The use of mobile phones for voice messaging is not permitted in the open areas of the LRC in the Carlow campus. All voice messaging from within the LRC must take place in the enclosed stairwells on each floor. Text messaging is permitted in the LRC with the exception of the Quiet Study Room. In the Wexford and Wicklow campuses, calls and voice messages can only be taken in the hallway.

A full listing of the Learning Resource Centre (LRC) Regulations for the Carlow campus are available in the Student Handbook.