Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture and Related Subjects: Subject Databases and Other Resources

A guide to IT Carlow Library for Architecture and related subjects

Subject Databases

The library provides access to a wide range of online databases which give comprehensive coverage of the subjects taught at IT Carlow. The majority of these databases can be searched via the Library Search and Find as well as through their individual search interfaces. Most of the databases are available for on- or off-campus access. Where off-campus access is not available this is shown in the database list available on the Library website.

Please note that IT Carlow Library databases are for private, individual use and research only, and can only be accessed by currently registered IT Carlow students and staff. Content from library databases must not be used for commercial purposes and data may not be shared with any third party. Please be aware that if you choose to use the added functionality of the databases, such as creating a personal account, each database will have a different privacy policy. The Institute strongly advises that you read any privacy notice from such third parties before using such functionality.

Construction Videos

Construction Videos/ Audiovisual Material
All audiovisual material is shelved in the Audio-visual stacks #17 - 18 on Level Two. While it may be possible to borrow some of this material, TV/Video combination units are provided beside these stacks so that users may access the material on the premises. DVD material can be played on most LRC computers.

The Construction of HousesSeries I and Series II produced by the University of the West of England, Faculty of the Built Environment can be viewed on the IT Carlow intranet ACCESS THESE VIDEOS HERE

Newspapers

The Library subscribes to a number of print newspapers including:

The Irish Times, Irish Independent, Financial Times, Daily Mirror and the Carlow Nationalist.

The Carlow Nationalist is available for consultation at the Library Issue Desk.

A comprehensive collection of Irish and international newspapers are available online, via the LexisNexis News & Business database.

Please ask Library staff for more detail.

Key Architecture Databases

The databases most relevant to Architecture are as follows:

Irish Construction Information Service Online

A comprehensive source of technical information and standards relating to the construction industry. As well as the Core service, supplements for Building, Civil & Structural Engineering, Mechanical & Electrical Engineering and Construction Management are included. Material relevant to Ireland is also included.

Emerald Engineering

Full text access to 175 journals. Subjects include Business, Engineering, Marketing, Management, Quality, Human Resources, Education & Training etc. The coverage of 125 Emerald journals within the IT Carlow subscription has been expanded to include all backfiles.

Construction Web Site

Contains lots of information on building construction, past and present. It's aimed at students and practitioners and anyone else who is interested in building construction and building history. It concentrates on principles and practice; not on the details of Building Regulations or British Standards. Information has been gleaned from a variety of sources including manufacturers, specialist contractors, surveyors, building control officers, trade bodies, early text books and trade catalogues, county & city record offices, museums and so on ... The Construction Web Site includes: hundreds of pages of text on all aspects of domestic building construction; nearly two thousand photos showing new and old construction practice; hundreds of 2D and 3D graphics; several PowerPoint presentations; lots of short video clips and several multiple choice tests; a brief and fairly non-technical summary of the most important Building Regulations (housing only). USERNAME AND PASSWORD REQUIRED

Springer Energy Collection 

A collection of electronic books covering aspects of energy management and engineering - content can be downloaded.

Other useful Databases

Academic Source Complete

This resource contains more active, peer-reviewed, business-related journals than any other database currently available. Additional full-text non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (video) and more.

Infotrac General One File

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Most articles can also be downloaded as MP3 files. 

JSTOR

JSTOR is an archive of academic journal back issues. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and related titles. However, the most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available, but users can search this recent material and link to the full text (depending on subscription status). IT Carlow subscribes to Arts & Sciences IV module which has a strong focus on the professions of business, education, and law, and also includes titles in psychology and public policy and administration.

LexisNexis Company Dossier

Company Dossier enables you to gain insights into prospects, customers and competitors with instant access to up-to-date, trusted and comprehensive information on 3 million UK companies and 46 million companies worldwide. Dossier collates information from authoritative business, news, country, market research and industry sources and provides you with pre-formatted reports in an instant, and company, industry and executive profiles.

LexisNexis News & Business

This LexisNexis database provides access to full-text online legal, news and business information services with 2 billion documents gathered from 28,000 sources. Coverage includes: Irish and International newspapers ; Irish and International Companies 18,600 News and Business sources from around the world.

Provides access to information about Conveyancing Law, Land Law, Landlord and Tenant Law, Stamp Duty, and other aspects of Irish property legislation.

Marketline Advantage

This latest version of MarketLine replaces Datamonitor360 and gives access to a unique mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world. The content includes company SWOT analyses, company overviews, industry profiles, case studies, country analyses, country statistics and latest news and developments.

Science Direct

Access to 1,600+ journals from Elsevier. Mainly Science, although Business, Economics, Engineering, Maths, Computing and Social Science is also included. Full-text is available for last 6 years by clicking on 'Publications' button. 

 

The majority of the above listed databases can be accessed from outside I.T Carlow.  For Off-Campus log-in, users will be asked to enter their I.T Carlow network log-in and password. Please consult our Off-Campus Access Guide for more information.