Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law and Legal Studies: Introduction

Introduction

 

Welcome to the Library service of the Institute of Technology, Carlow.  The services provided by the Library include book lending, individual and group study facilities, photocopying, information retrieval service and access to a range of online databases.

The Library holds a broad range of resources both printed and electronic to support the subject area of Law. These include books, journals, databases, Law Reports, newspapers and various other items.

Legal literature can be divided into two main categories - primary materials and secondary materials.

Primary materials are the written sources of the law e.g. Acts of the Oireachtas, Statutory Instruments, Law Reports etc

Secondary materials include all other types of legal literature which are not formal records e.g. books, journals, etc

To facilitate the research process, this guide provides a brief outline of how to search for these different types of material.

 

Featured Law Resource

New Law Database

Bloomsbury Professional

The Library now has a subscription to the Bloomsbury Professional database. 

This database provides access to a range of law resources including e-books in the following areas:

Irish Employment  Law

Irish Company Law

Irish Civil Litigation

Irish Criminal Law

Irish Property Law

New Law E-books

The following e-books are now available through Westlaw.ie 

Administration Law (5th ed) Horgan, Morgan, Daly

Arbitration Law (3rd ed.) Dowling-Hussey

Contract Law (8th ed.) Clark

Employment Law (1st ed.) Meenan

Employment Equality Law (1st ed.) Bolger, Bruton, Kimber

Evidence (2nd ed.) McGrath

Family Law (1st ed.) Crowley

------------------------------------------------------------

Calling all Dissertation students!!

Need access to Research Methods material!

Check out some of our online resources!

E-Books

There is a broad range of Research Methods e-books available through our dedicated e-book database E-Book Central

---------------------------------------------