Books are arranged by subject according to the Dewey Classification System. Each book in the Library is assigned a Dewey shelf number that identifies its subject matter. This number can be found on the spine of the book.
The following is a broad outline of the Dewey numbers that are relevant to Law and Legal Studies:
340 Jurisprudence
340.1 Philosophy of Law
341 International Law
341.2422 European Law
342 Constitutional Law
342.06 Administrative Law
342.41708 Data Protection
343.052 Trade/Industrial Law
344 Social/Labour/Welfare Law
344.1705 Criminal Law
345.41702 Corporate crime
346.03 Torts
346.043 Land Law
346.015 Family Law
346.066 Company Law
349.417 Defamation Law
At the SETU Carlow Campus library the book collections are divided into three categories. The general lending book collection from 001—699 is located on the ground floor (Stack 1-11) with the 700s—900s located on the first floor (Stack 21). Items from this collection can be borrowed for a loan period of two weeks for undergraduates.
The short loan collection is located on the ground floor (Stack 11). This collection contains items that are in high demand and can be borrowed for a loan period of one week.
The Law Reference collection is located on the ground floor (Stack 17-19) and contains items such as law reports, law journals, the Geoffrey Hand Collection etc. This collection also holds textbooks that are in high demand and are for library use only.
The Library catalogues of SETU Carlow and SETU Waterford are now unified under one searchable interface. On the SETU Libraries homepage to perform a search on the unified Library catalogue, scroll to the Quicklinks section at the bottom of the page. Here you will find the Search the Catalogue link.
For more searching options (such as Title, Author, Subject search) drop down the available menu and make your searching selection.
When you run your search, a full list of available items are displayed. This list can be narrowed down to the holding library you require such as SETU Carlow by selecting the holding library filter on the left hand side of the page. The book record will include author, title, publisher, edition, description, the general subject area and shelf number location.
For more advanced searching options, link into the Advanced Search option. This links you to the "Advanced Search" screen, which allows you to complete a variety of combination searches using options such as keywords, author, title and shelf number. You can also limit your results by item type, publication date range as well as library location.
For more information on searching the library catalogue, please see our LibGuide Using the Library Web Catalogue.
Cases and Materials on Constitutional and Administrative Law by 
EU Privacy and Data Protection Law by 
An Introduction to Irish Criminal Law by 
