Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sport Management: Subject Databases

Subject Databases

The library provides access to a wide range of online databases which give comprehensive coverage of the subjects taught at IT Carlow. The majority of these databases can be searched via the Search and Find: Online Resources Discovery Service as well as through their individual search interfaces. Most of the databases are available for on- or off-campus access. Where off-campus access is not available this is shown in the database list available on the Library website.

Please note that IT Carlow Library databases are for private, individual use and research only, and can only be accessed by currently registered IT Carlow students and staff. Content from library databases must not be used for commercial purposes and data may not be shared with any third party. Please be aware that if you choose to use the added functionality of the databases, such as creating a personal account, each database will have a different privacy policy. The Institute strongly advises that you read any privacy notice from such third parties before using such functionality.

Newspapers

A comprehensive collection of Irish and international newspapers are available online, via the Nexis Uni database.

Please ask Library staff for more detail.

Key Sport Management Databases

The databases most relevant to Sport Management are as follows:

Academic OneFile

Infotrac Academic OneFile is a source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.

Business Source Complete

This resource contains more active, peer-reviewed, business-related journals than any other database currently available. Additional full-text non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (video) and more.

Emerald Insight

Full text access to 175 journals. Subjects include Business, Engineering, Marketing, Management, Quality, Human Resources, Education & Training etc. The coverage of 125 Emerald journals within the IT Carlow subscription has been expanded to include all backfiles.

Euromonitor Passport

Euromonitor Passport is a global market research database providing insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, helping students analyse market context and identify future trends impacting businesses globally.  I.T. Carlow’s subscription includes industry research for 20 core countries (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Russia, USA, China and India) and global coverage for Economics and Consumer topics. The database includes analysis on consumer lifestyles, population trends and socioeconomic research.

Infotrac General One File

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Most articles can also be downloaded as MP3 files. 

JSTOR

JSTOR is an archive of academic journal back issues. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and related titles. However, the most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available, but users can search this recent material and link to the full text (depending on subscription status). IT Carlow subscribes to Arts & Sciences IV module which has a strong focus on the professions of business, education, and law, and also includes titles in psychology and public policy and administration.

Marketline Advantage

This latest version of MarketLine replaces Datamonitor360 and gives access to a unique mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world. The content includes company SWOT analyses, company overviews, industry profiles, case studies, country analyses, country statistics and latest news and developments.

Nexis Uni

The Nexis Uni database provides access to the Company Dossier and Market Insight platform. Dossier collates information from authoritative business, news, country, market research and industry sources and provides you with pre-formatted reports in an instant, and company, industry and executive profiles. This platform enables you to gain Insights and current information including financial information on national and international companies and the industries they operate in.
This database also provides access to a comprehensive range of online national and international newspapers.

Regional Business News

Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications in the US. It incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis. 

Science Direct

Access to 1,600+ journals from Elsevier. Mainly Science, although Business, Economics, Engineering, Maths, Computing and Social Science is also included. Full-text is available for last 6 years by clicking on 'Publications' button. 

Social Sciences and Humanities Library (Taylor and Francis)

IT Carlow patrons can access this online collection of over 1000 journals. The major subject areas covered by the SSH library are: Arts & Humanities, Behavioral Science, Business, Management & Economics, Criminology & Law, Education, Planning, Urban & Environment, Media, Cultural & Communication Studies, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Public Health & Social Care, Sociology & Related Disciplines, Sport, Leisure & Tourism. Coverage is from 1997 onwards. This site also allows the searching of all Taylor & Francis online publications.

Social Sciences Full-Text (H.W. Wilson)

Includes full text of articles from some 215 journals dating as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 periodicals dating as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and much more.

 

The majority of the above listed databases can be accessed from outside I.T Carlow.  For Off-Campus log-in, users will be asked to enter their I.T Carlow network log-in and password. Please consult our Off-Campus Access Guide for more information.