Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sports Science and Medicine: Websites

General guide to library resources for Sports Science and Medicine

Gateways

LENUS - Lenus, the Irish Health Research repository is the leading source for Irish research in health and social care.  The Lenus collections include peer reviewed journal articles, grey literature, dissertations, reports and conference presentations. Lenus contains the publications of the Irish Health Service Executive (HSE) and the collected research output of over 130 health organisations past and present are all freely accessible.

MedNar - Mednar is a free, medically-focused deep web search engine that uses Explorit Everywhere!, an advanced search technology by Deep Web Technologies. As an alternative to Google, Mednar accelerates research with a search of authoritative public and deep web resources, returning the most relevant results to one easily navigable page.

SciCentral access to the scientific research news sources on the web.

ScienceOpen  - ScienceOpen is a freely accessible search and discovery platform that puts research in context using Smart filters, topical collections and input from the academic community. Links are provided to articles available through Open Access initiatives.

WorldWideScience.org - WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.

General

MedlinePlus: Rehabilitation - MedlinePlus: Rehabilitation is a subject page providing information and links to information on Rehabilttation and allied subjects. Provided my the United States National Library of Medicine.

Physiopedia - Physiopedia provides an evidence-based and continually updating knowledge resource that is free for anyone to access and is the  largest available publicly accessible physiotherapy knowledge resource in the world.

ScienceNordic - ScienceNordic, launched in November 2011, is the English-language source for science news from the Nordic countries and covers the human sciences as well as natural science, health and technology.


World Rugby Player Welfare- A website produced by World Rugby giving information on all aspects of health and injury-related topics in rugby.

Institutions

American Physical Therapy Association

Australian Physiotherapy Association 

British Association of Sport & Exercise Medicine

Chartered Society for Physiotherapy - The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy (CSP) is the professional, educational and trade union body for the UK's 47,000 chartered physiotherapists, physiotherapy students and assistants.

Health Service Executive

IDEA Health & Fitness Association

International Federation of Sports Medicine

Irish Society of Chartered Physiotherapists

 Science Foundation Ireland

Sport Ireland - Sport Ireland is the authority tasked with the development of sport in Ireland. This includes participation in sport, high performance sport, anti-doping, coaching and the development of the Sport Ireland Campus

Sport Ireland Institute - The Sport Ireland Institute provides access to a range of services that can positively impact on performance. These services include Biomechanics, Nutrition, Performance Analysis, Physiology, Psychology and Strength and Conditioning. The Sport Ireland Institute works closely with sports to ensure that these services are pre-planned and tailored to each sport’s needs and that these services are embedded in to the high performance plans of each sport.