Skip to main content

Researching Your Thesis: Introduction

Useful resources to help you conduct research for your thesis

Introduction

The guide has been created to provide information on how to use library resources when preparing your thesis and also with advice from our Teaching & Learning Centre on how to structure your thesis. 

This resource contains important information for Undergraduate and Postgraduate students completing dissertations. However, remember to always follow the specific guidelines given by your department and / or supervisor.

Ebooks

The ebooks suggested below have been selected to help you more generally, but for specific departmental guidelines, handbooks, etc. please follow up with your supervisor. For more help on using ebooks please visit our Ebooks LibGuide https://libguides.itcarlow.ie/ebooks.

undefined

How to write your dissertation:

Subject specific:

General study skills books that include a section on dissertations:

Subject Databases

The Library subscribes to a wide range of databases covering the subjects taught at IT Carlow. Most of these databases are searchable through  ‘EDS: Online Article, Database Search’ or alternatively they can be searched individually via the A-Z Database list.

Here you will find a link to all of our library databases where you can find research material such as journal articles, books and conference papers. A guide to using EDS can be found at https://libguides.itcarlow.ie/EDS.

Research Methods Resources

Sage Research Methods Videos

These Sage video collections include 480+ streaming videos covering every aspect of the research process and hundreds of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods. Other collections include videos on practical research and academic skills, data science, big data analytics, and digital methods, and market research. Complimentary access until June 2020.

E-Books

There are a broad range of Research Methods e-books available through our dedicated e-book database Ebook Central.

Subject Guides

For more specific guides to individual subject areas, including key information resources for your discipline, please visit our list of Subject LibGuides.

Off Campus Access to Online Resources including EDS

After you click on EDS or an individual database link, you will need to enter your IT Carlow network username and password (e.g. your student number and the same password that you use to log into your email or Blackboard) to access the online resource. For more information see our Off-Campus Access LibGuide.