Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Supply Chain Management: Research Resources

Introduction

The aim of this page is to highlight online Library resources that are useful if you are completing a dissertation/research project.

Highlighted resources include research methodology material such as relevant e-books / databases and tips for effectively managing your referencing workflow.

For guidelines on chapter layout etc please refer to your dissertation pack or consult with your supervisor.

Research Methods Resources

E-Books

There are a broad range of Research Methods e-books available through our dedicated e-book database E-Book Central

Some useful titles include the following:

Research Methods for Graduate Business and Social Science Students (2014) John Adams.

Business Research Methods. (2010) Krishnaswami

Research Methods in Management (2004) G. Lancaster

Research Methods for Business and Management (2014) D. O Gorman

Understanding Business Research (2012) Bart

Designing and Conducting Business Surveys (2013) Snijkers

Organizational Research Methods: A Guide for Students and Researchers (2011) Coussement

Practical Ethnography: A Guide to doing Ethnography in the Private Sector (2014) Ladner

The Handbook of Online and Social Media Research: Tools and Techniques for Market Researchers (2010) Poytner

An Introduction to Analysis of Financial Data with R (2012) Tsay

Field Guide to Case Study Research in Business to Business Marketing and Purchasing (2014) Woodside

Case Study Research Methods (2000) Gilham

Case Study Research in Practice (2009) Simons 

Doing Your Undergraduate Project (2006) Reardon

Focus Group Discussions (2013) Hennick

Qualitative Research in Business : A Practical Overview (2014) Walle

Understanding Business Research (2012) Weathington

Qualitative Marketing Research (2001) Carson

Introduction to Qualitative Market Research (2002) Imms

Interviewing Groups and Individuals in Qualitative Market Research (2002) Chrzanowska

The Handbook of Mobile Market Research: Tools and Techniques for Market Research (2014) Williams

The Oxford Handbook of Multimethod and Mixed Methods Research Inquiry (2015) Hesse-Biber

Managing Your Referencing Workflow

It is recommended that you effectively manage your referencing workflow as you progress through your literature searching. It is advisable to save the referencing details of relevant material such as journal articles, case studies, books etc that you are consulting for your literature review.  These bibliographic details will be required for your bibliography. To this end, it is useful to use a software tool which allows you to collate, organise and format your references.  When searching Search and Find: Online Resources it is also possible to email a list of saved references through the Folder option.

EndNote Online 

EndNote Online is a software tool for collecting, organising and formatting references, and can be used to create a bibliography for a project, dissertation or thesis. To use this product it is necessary to register and create an account (free) by going to: http://www.myendnoteweb.com.

Once an account has been set up it is possible to export references from the Search and Find: Online Resources search service to EndNote Online by the following method:

  • Exporting records to Endnote Online from the Search and Find: Online Resources Saved Items folder.

When a search of Search and Find: Online Resources is performed and records have been saved into the Saved Items folder using the   icon these items can be exported to EndNote Online by opening the Saved Items folder  and selecting the required references and then the Export option:

 

On the next screen selected the Direct Export to EndNote Online option:

 and click on Save

NOTE: it is recommended that EndNote Online is opened before starting the export process – if EndNote Online has not been opened, the login screen will be shown before the export is completed.

Once finished EndNote Online will display a confirmation that the export has successfully completed:

Further help on using EndNote Online can be found at http://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/endnote_online.

Industry Information

When completing your Industry Review, the following databases are useful in terms of finding company and industry information.

Euromonitor Passport

Euromonitor Passport is a global market research database providing insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, helping students analyse market context and identify future trends impacting businesses globally.  I.T. Carlow’s subscription includes industry research for 20 core countries (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Russia, USA, China and India) and global coverage for Economics and Consumer topics. The database includes analysis on consumer lifestyles, population trends and socioeconomic research.

The database now includes a new hub for COVID-19 content including scenario models, price and availability trackers and expert analysis on the impact across industries, economics and consumers. 

Nexis Uni

The Nexis Uni database provides access to full-text online legal, news and business information services with 2 billion documents gathered from 28,000 sources. Coverage includes: Irish and International newspapers ; Irish and International Companies 18,600 News and Business sources from around the world.

Marketline Advantage

This latest version of MarketLine replaces Datamonitor360 and gives access to a unique mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world. The content includes company SWOT analyses, company overviews, industry profiles, case studies, country analyses, country statistics and latest news and developments.