Skip to Main Content

SETU Libraries : Library Collections

Information on the network of SETU Libraries

Library Collections

Our libraries house an extensive range of print collections, covering all faculty areas and including:

  • Print books, reports, official publications, standards, and print journals
  • Undergraduate and Postgraduate Theses
  • Special collections, including the Geoffrey Hand collection of Law materials in the main Carlow campus library and the Christ Church Cathedral and Bonaparte-Wyse Collections, among others, in the Luke Wadding Library in Waterford.
  • If you need help using any of the resources on this page, library support and training are available - see the tab on the right-hand side. 

Printed books, reports, official publications, standards, and print journals (Waterford)

Printed books, reports, official publications, standards, and print journals can be searched for on the Library Search box on the library website also known as the library catalogue.

Once you have located the item you want you will be able to see:

  • if it can be borrowed
  • how many copies there are
  • how long you can have it on loan
  • if it can be renewed
  • a map showing where the item is located in the library

Theses (Waterford)

The theses collection consists of research and postgraduate dissertations submitted to SETU and also includes a selection of undergraduate submissions.

Most theses are located in Luke Wadding Library, Cork Rd. with a small collection of theses in art and music are also available in College Street Library.

Some theses are available online - see the link below.

Special Collections (Waterford)

The Special Collection department in SETU Waterford Libraries is home to unique collections of literary manuscripts, early printed books and collections donated by individuals.

The Special Collections department has a dual role, to facilitate current research but also the care and preservation of the unique collections in our custody for future users.

Physical items in the Library (Carlow)

The library provides access to a range of printed resources, including books, journals, references as well as previous theses that students have done in the past. All items are available to be read in the library, but there is varying freedom in relation to this, depending on the item you wish to access. 

General Lending Collection: This collection consists of books which may be borrowed for up to one week at a time and can be renewed up to three times. These are shelved in Stacks 1-11 (ground floor LRC) and Stack 21 (first floor of LRC).

  • Undergraduate Students - Full & Part-time: 4 items
  • Postgraduate students: 6 items    
  • Staff: 10 items

Short Loan Collection: This collection consists of books in high demand. These are shelved in Stack 11 in the LRC. The loan period has been extended to one week (from two nights) with a further renewal of one week.

  • All students / staff: 2 items

Note: You cannot renew a book if another person has requested the book. The book will need to be returned to the library at the end of the loan period.

Note: Reference material, theses and journals may not be borrowed.

Locating material in the library (Carlow)

When you have located a particular item you are interested in, you will need to locate it in the library. This is done through the use of the Dewey decimal system, which is numbers that are located on the books themselves and at the end of the bookshelf. The video below goes over how to actually find the books.