LibGuides: *Online Resources and Services available at IT Carlow Library during COVID-19 Closure: E-Resources

Ebooks - How to Access Electronic Books

Staff and students of IT Carlow can make use of the online facilities provided by the library to download and read electronic books. Ebooks are available through several databases with the main ebook resource being ProQuest's Ebook Central which has over 180,000 ebooks covering all subject areas.

Ebook Central Ebook Central provides access to a large collection of ebook titles covering a wide range of subjects including Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Education, Fine Arts, Language & Literature, Law, Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Psychology, Social Sciences, Technology. Ebook central titles can be read online or downloaded onto a PC, laptop or to other devices. A personal bookshelf can be used to store titles. All ebooks previously supplied though Myilibrary are now available in Ebook Central.

Please Note: This video refers to EDS which has been renamed as 'Search and Find: Online Resources' but the functionality remains the same.

Ejournals - How to Find Electronic Journal Articles

Students and staff can search for ejournal articles via ‘Search and Find: Online Resources’ from the Library homepage. Simply type keywords, titles or authors into the search box pictured below and click "Search". Once you have done this you will be asked to log in with your IT Carlow network username and password. This will conduct a quick search of the Library's ejournal databases and other online resources.

When a search results list is displayed, it will by default list all results where full-text access is available. If required, the Source Types option can also be set to Academic Journals to only display results from high-quality academic journals:

When you have decided on the title you wish to view, click on PDF Full Text, Full Text Finder, Linked Full Text or HTML Full-Text to link to the full-text of a document. This will take you to the requested article.

You can also search for ejournal articles in other databases from our A-Z Databases list. Ejournal databases include:

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Access to 1,600+ journals from Elsevier. Mainly Science, although Business, Economics, Engineering, Maths, Computing and Social Science is also included. Full-text is available for last 6 years by clicking on 'Publications' button. Help on using this resource can be found at: https://elsevier.libguides.com/sciencedirect/home
Social Sciences and Humanities Library This link opens in a new window SETU Carlow patrons can access this online collection of over 1000 journals. The major subject areas covered by the SSH library are: Arts & Humanities, Behavioral Science, Business, Management & Economics, Criminology & Law, Education, Planning, Urban & Environment, Media, Cultural & Communication Studies, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Public Health & Social Care, Sociology & Related Disciplines, Sport, Leisure & Tourism. Coverage is from 1997 onwards. This site also allows the searching of all Taylor & Francis online publications.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window IEEE Xplore is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. It provides access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. The content includes 151 journals, over 900 conference proceedings, and more than 3,400 technical standards. Approximately 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month. This platform also hosts full text access to all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles published between 1974-2012.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Full text access to 175 journals. Subjects include Business, Engineering, Marketing, Management, Quality, Human Resources, Education & Training etc. The coverage of 125 Emerald journals within the SETU Carlow subscription has been expanded to include all backfiles. Searches within Emerald automatically include these journals, the recently-added Engineering e-journal collection and any Emerald e-books which we have access to.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library hosts a broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Full text access is available - click on more... to see full details of titles specifically subscribed to by SETU Carlow.
Full Text (F/T) journal access:
Child Development (F/T 1997 - Current)
Energy Technology (F/T 2013 only)
European Law Journal (F/T 1997 - 2021)
Propellants, Explosives, Pyrotechnics (F/T 2012 - 2014)
Review of Education (F/T 2013-2014)
The International Journal of Psychoanalysis (F/T 2014 - 2017) ;
The Journal of the Federated Institutes of Brewing (F/T 1880 - Current)
The Journal of Humanistic Counseling (F/T 2017 - 2021)
The Journal of Humanistic Education and Development (F/T 2017 - 2021)
The Journal of the Institute of Brewing (F/T 2017 - Current)
The Journal of Supply Chain Management (F/T 1997 - Current)
WIREs Computational Molecular Science (F/T 2011 - 2013)
WIREs Energy and Environment (F/T 2013-2014)
WIREs Water (F/T 2014 - Jan 2016)

Please Note: This video refers to EDS which has been renamed as 'Search and Find: Online Resources' but the functionality remains the same.

A-Z List of Databases

A-Z Databases A-Z List of Institute of Technology Carlow Library Online Databases

The Library subscribes to a wide range of databases covering the subjects taught at IT Carlow. Most of these databases are searchable through ‘Search and Find: Online Resources’ or alternatively can be searched individually via the A-Z Database list.

The following databases are not searchable via 'Search and Find: Online Resources':

Online Resources made Available as a Response to COVID-19

Many publishers have made additional content temporarily available for free during the COVID-19 pandemic. The following list details what is available and how to access this additional content. Please contact us if you have any queries.

JSTOR: We now have access to all JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections and more than 25,000 ebooks.

Off Campus Access to Online Resources including 'Search and Find: Online Resources'

After you click on 'Search and Find: Online Resources' or an individual database link, you will need to enter your IT Carlow network username and password (e.g. your student number and the same password that you use to log into your email or Blackboard) to access the online resource. For more information see our Off-Campus Access LibGuide.

Subject Guides and Further Help

For more specific guides to individual subject areas, please visit our list of Subject LibGuides.

The Library web pages (www.itcarlow.ie/library/home.htm) and Library Guides (http://libguides.itcarlow.ie/) contain further information about the Library and its services, including video tutorials and more information on using ‘Search and Find: Online Resources’ and ebooks.

If you have a library query please call 059 9175760 or email:

LibraryHelp@itcarlow.ie
Mary.Delaney@itcarlow.ie - Institute Librarian
Fintan.Bracken@itcarlow.ie - Deputy Librarian
Brigid.Carey@itcarlow.ie - Liaison Librarian to Faculty of Business and Humanities
Ronan.Lynch@itcarlow.ie - Liaison Librarian to Faculty of Engineering
Simon.Perry@itcarlow.ie - Liaison Librarian to Faculty of Science
Breda.Connell@itcarlow.ie - Lifelong Learning and Research Services Librarian

If you have a problem accessing an online resource please email Simon.Perry@itcarlow.ie or Fintan.Bracken@itcarlow.ie.

You can also follow the Library on Facebook and Twitter:

I.T. Carlow Library

@ITCarlowLibrary

*Online Resources and Services available at IT Carlow Library during COVID-19 Closure: E-Resources