Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law and Legal Studies: Websites

UK & Irish

Acts of Parliament

UK Legislation

IRLII: Irish Legal Information Initiative 

Run by UCC Law Faculty to complement its contribution to BAILII.

BAILII: British and Irish Legal Information Institute 

Comprehensive, up-to-date cases and legislation from Ireland (north and south), England & Wales and Scotland, with a search engine.

FindLaw

Irish Law pages with links to articles and information about Ireland.

Irish Courts Service 

With the legal diary online, information about courts nationwide, links and an interactive map of the Four Courts.

Irish Statute Book  

The electronic Irish Statute Book (eISB) includes Acts of the Oireachtas and Statutory Instruments, the official versions of which remain the printed versions published by Government Publications.

Law Reform Commission of Ireland

An independent body established under the Law Reform Commission Act 1975. Its overall function is to keep the law under review and make recommendations for its reform.

Legal Island 

Irish and Northern Irish legal information in the area of Irish employment law.

IrishLaw site 

One of the original and most comprehensive sources of Irish law on the Net. It includes the IrishLaw list, an e-mail discussion list on Irish and Northern Irish law, with a fully searchable index of all IrishLaw messages.

Parliament 

Includes access to full text debates and bills

UK Government

Links to departments and agencies

United Kingdom Official Publications (UKOP)

Venables Legal Resources

Contains several hundred pages of listings, describing tens of thousands of websites. It remains one of the most useful legal portal sites on the web for the UK and maintains very high authority and trust rankings.

 

European & Global

EUR-Lex

EUR-Lex provides direct free access to European Union law. The system makes it possible to consult the Official Journal of the European Union and it includes inter alia the treaties, legislation, case-law and legislative proposals. It offers extensive search facilities.

European Court of Justice 

Includes full text cases

European Parliament  

Includes full text debates and reports

European Court of Human Rights 

Information on the court, its’ procedures, case-law, reports and pending cases.

Council Of Europe

Treaties and Conventions of the Council of Europe.

World Legal Information Institute

(WorldLII)  

Gateways

Europa - Gateway to the European Union

FinFacts - Ireland’s Business & Finance Portal