Skip to main content

Law and Legal Studies: Subject Databases

Subject Databases

The library provides access to a wide range of online databases which give comprehensive coverage of the subjects taught at IT Carlow. The majority of these databases can be searched via the EDS Web Discovery Service as well as through their individual search interfaces. Most of the databases are available for on- or off-campus access. Where off-campus access is not available this is shown in the database list available on the Library website.

Please note that IT Carlow Library databases are for private, individual use and research only, and can only be accessed by currently registered IT Carlow students and staff. Content from library databases must not be used for commercial purposes and data may not be shared with any third party. Please be aware that if you choose to use the added functionality of the databases, such as creating a personal account, each database will have a different privacy policy. The Institute strongly advises that you read any privacy notice from such third parties before using such functionality.

Key Law Databases

The databases most relevant to Law are as follows:

Justis

Justis provides access to The Irish Reports and Irish Digests, published by The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for Ireland. This gives coverage of over 170 years of Irish case reports and contains the full text data of published cases from 1838 to the present day. The data is updated every 3 months. The Irish Reports is the most comprehensive series of case reports covering decisions of major importance of the superior courts of Ireland. The reports are compiled by practising barristers and are cited authoritatively in Irish courts and tribunals. Each report includes a headnote which summarises the judgements. Irish Digests provides a summary for each case reported in: The Irish Reports (1917 - 1999), Irish Jurist Reports (1932 - 1965), Irish Law Journal (1931 - 1934) Irish Law Reports Monthly (1976 2000), Irish Law Times Reports (53 - 114), Northern Ireland Reports (1925 - 1999) Irish Special Reports (1980 - 1998). Click here for on-campus access

LexisNexis LNB Legal

LexisNexis Butterworths (LNB) is a legal database which includes UK & Irish Cases, UK Law Journals, International Legal Information, All England Law Reports, The Irish Reports etc. Click here for on-campus access.

Westlaw IE

Westlaw IE is the most comprehensive and authoritative Irish online legal research service. It provides online access to an extensive collection of legal content including : a collection of case law including renowned reporting series such as ILRM and ILTR giving full text law reports dating back to 1867, consolidated legislation, annotated legislation, a unique collection of journals, relevant news and business information, and a current awareness service updated once a day. Click here for off-campus access. Click here for on-campus access.

Westlaw UK 

Westlaw UK complements our existing subscription to WestlawIE and provides IT Carlow patrons with access to UK law journals and legal information. Click here for off-campus access and here for on-campus access.

Finding cases in Lexis

Newspapers

The Library subscribes to a number of print newspapers including:

The Irish Times, Irish Independent, Financial Times, Daily Mirror and the Carlow Nationalist.

The Carlow Nationalist is available for consultation at the Library Issue Desk.

A comprehensive collection of Irish and international newspapers are available online, via the LexisNexis News & Business database.

Please ask Library staff for more detail.

Other Relevant Databases

Other relevant databases for Law include:

Business Source Complete

This resource contains more active, peer-reviewed, business-related journals than any other database currently available. Additional full-text non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (video) and more.

Emerald Insight

Full text access to 175 journals. Subjects include Business, Engineering, Marketing, Management, Quality, Human Resources, Education & Training etc. The coverage of 125 Emerald journals within the IT Carlow subscription has been expanded to include all backfiles.

Euromonitor Passport

Euromonitor Passport is a global market research database providing insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, helping students analyse market context and identify future trends impacting businesses globally.  I.T. Carlow’s subscription includes industry research for 20 core countries (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Russia, USA, China and India) and global coverage for Economics and Consumer topics. The database includes analysis on consumer lifestyles, population trends and socioeconomic research.

Industrial Relations News

Industrial Relations News (IRN) is a weekly Irish publication providing comprehensive coverage of all industrial and employee relations issues. Contents include: News, analysis and features on all current industrial/employee developments, Local and national pay bargaining, Labour law developments, Employment Appeals Tribunal and Equality Officer cases, Impact of EU Directives on industrial relations and employment law and Coverage of Labour Court and Labour Relations Commission (LRC) cases. IT Carlow subscribes to this online edition which gives access to all issues from 1997 onwards

Infotrac General One File

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Most articles can also be downloaded as MP3 files. 

JSTOR

JSTOR is an archive of academic journal back issues. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and related titles. However, the most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available, but users can search this recent material and link to the full text (depending on subscription status). IT Carlow subscribes to Arts & Sciences IV module which has a strong focus on the professions of business, education, and law, and also includes titles in psychology and public policy and administration.

LexisNexis Company Dossier

Company Dossier enables you to gain insights into prospects, customers and competitors with instant access to up-to-date, trusted and comprehensive information on 3 million UK companies and 46 million companies worldwide. Dossier collates information from authoritative business, news, country, market research and industry sources and provides you with pre-formatted reports in an instant, and company, industry and executive profiles.

LexisNexis News & Business

This LexisNexis database provides access to full-text online legal, news and business information services with 2 billion documents gathered from 28,000 sources. Coverage includes: Irish and International newspapers ; Irish and International Companies 18,600 News and Business sources from around the world.

Marketline Advantage

This latest version of MarketLine replaces Datamonitor360 and gives access to a unique mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world. The content includes company SWOT analyses, company overviews, industry profiles, case studies, country analyses, country statistics and latest news and developments.

Regional Business News

Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications in the US. It incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis. 

Science Direct

Access to 1,600+ journals from Elsevier. Mainly Science, although Business, Economics, Engineering, Maths, Computing and Social Science is also included. Full-text is available for last 6 years by clicking on 'Publications' button. 

 

The majority of the above listed databases can be accessed from outside I.T Carlow.  For Off-Campus log-in, users will be asked to enter their I.T Carlow network log-in and password. Please consult our Off-Campus Access Guide for more information.